Help working in the garden in small village near Istanbul, Turkey

new host
Country

Turquie

Enregistré comme favori 28 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.05.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

Contact S'inscrire
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent immédiatement mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I’ve been using workaway and other volunteering platforms to gain volunteer and farm experience for the last three years. I’ve mostly worked in Italy but also in Lebanon and my home country, Turkey.

    I’m returning home to concentrate on my garden and would love some volunteers to help. I live in a suburban village 30km away from Istanbul, it is calm and peaceful, a wonderful recluse from the intensity of Istanbul. In the village you will find authentic produce and one of the best home cooked meal restaurants in Istanbul, we will go often! The village is surrounded by forests but is only half an hour to an hour from the centre of Istanbul. We have regular bus services that are very cheap and I will often be available to give you a lift or come to explore the city with you. I have many friends who are often going out for dinner and drinks and you are more than welcome to come along too.

    Our garden is a large suburban garden, which we have converted into a miniature farm. We have fruit trees, vegetable patches, a chicken coop and practice two types of composting; vermicompost and Bokashi. On top of this we make our own yoghurt and kefir as well as vinegar, pickles, jams and preserves in preparation for the winter.

    There is always something to help with! I am hoping to build a larger chicken coop so that we may be able to house more hens. I hope to make use of every bit of land in order to produce more food, decrease my family’s weekly fresh produce bill and if there is surplus, to sell at the local market. The community here is very eco-conscious and demand for local produced goods is high.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    An interesting insight into suburban Istanbul life, many people decide to live outside of the city as it is almost always busy and chaotic. I love Istanbul and often spend time in the city at bars, at the market, looking through second hand shops and going to the many many cool suburbs as well as mosques, churches and synagogues.

    In the house we eat mostly Turkish food so volunteers are more than welcome to have a taste of delicious home cooked Turkish meals. We have a very strong breakfast culture in Turkey, families gather every morning to take the time to eat a sometimes elaborate spread and talk about the day ahead.

    The forest surrounding our village has many hiking opportunities and we are only 20km away from the beaches of the Black Sea.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We will be working together almost all of the time. There is always something to do and I’m sure much for you to learn.
    The work won’t be difficult and the working hours are flexible. We can decide over breakfast what to concentrate on during the day and I’d love to hear ideas from volunteers too.

    Jobs in the garden will include sowing seeds, preparing beds, weeding and making rows, preparing bio-pesticides and applying them, harvesting, making compost, feeding the earthworms and mealworms, feeding the chickens, cleaning their coop and letting them out to graze, as well as collecting eggs.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    Turkish, English, Italian & French

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    My family home is located half an hour to an hour from the centre of Istanbul. I live in a large studio separate from the rest of the house. There is a bedroom with double bed as well as a separate living area with two large couches. We can decide who sleeps where, during the summer I often sleep on the couches so have no problem with you taking the double bed. There is a bathroom and kitchenette as well as a large terrace. We also have free use of the rest of the house and my parents work full-time so are often not around. We can eat meals together either in or out of the house.
    I studied agriculture and have a large library of books on gardening, permaculture and eco-living that you are welcome to read during your stay. I also have many musical instruments.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 616582799313