Collaborate in a non-profit cultural organization & rural co-living in the pre-Pyrenees

Favourited 51 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    25/04/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    748

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We want to present you our non-profit cultural organization & rural co-living in the area of Pre-Pyrenees (Catalonia, Spain).

    Here, surrounded by endless forest, work and projects can be combined with passions and enriching activities by collaborating, innovating, and connecting.
    The organisation is founded on the belief that working in a sustainable, rural and collaborative environment away from the pressures of everyday life in the city can restore and empower people personally and professionally.

    Located in the midst of nature inside Les Guilleries Natural Park, in a off-the-grid 16th-century farmhouse, this is an open and collaborative project, an inspiring and creative place of knowledge and training with a connotation of home, where individuals and groups become part of a community and stimulate their work through the exchange of ideas and perspectives. Through a series of activities such as courses, workshops, retreats or artists residencies, we create connections and connects skills between different disciplines and cultures.
    The house is self-sufficient: we get the water from a spring and the electricity is solar powered.
    We have an hilarious, friendly and big Mastiff of Pyrenees dog (Nubo), and a loving cat (Lula)

    Hello, we are Tai & Olga !

    We have been sharing our life and dreams for six years now, building our life and projects together. Two years ago, Tai was working full -time as an adventure travel guide, being outside home most of the year, the work was amazing because he got to know many different places, landscapes, people and cultures, but at the same time it was a very intense job that required a lot of responsibility 24h per day. Olga was working also full-time in a Contemporary Art Gallery in the center of Barcelona, doing what she likes, however, a 5 day-office job ended up burning her, with no time for herself or for growing her own projects.
    At the same period something was cooking inside us, nature was calling us and also we were thinking in creating an artistic/creative/flexible and open project being our own bosses. Both desires got together and this is how we found this magical and amazing place, and we launched our project. It was a risky move, but we strongly believed in what we wanted to achieve, being also a life project, not only a professional project. And here we are! :)
    Since the last two years we have been improving a lot the house and it's condition (electricity, hot water, vegetable garden, wooden floors, wood stoves, the kitchen, etc) but there's always more to do!

    Tai is originally from Israel but he has lived 9 years in Italy (Florence), and for the last 10 years in Barcelona (Spain). Olga is originally from Barcelona (Spain), but she has lived abroad for some years in Germany (Berlin), England (Bristol), Madrid and Malta. We both have an artistic and creative background and we love to travel and the adventure of getting to know different places with different cultures. Between the two of us we speak seven languages.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We are literally in the midst of nature, living in a big self-sufficient old farmhouse. As we are only two and these kind of old houses need a lot of maintenance and conservation, sometimes we can't get to do all the tasks that the house, the garden, the outdoors and our project require.
    This is why we are open all year long to volunteers to come and helps us, while enjoying being here.
    We ask the volunteers to contribute 4hours per day during 6 days per week, helping with general maintenance in the farmhouse and in the garden, we consider important the private time as well, reason why we only ask for 4 hours per day.
    We provide basic food supplies (for breakfast some bread/muesli/fruit/coffee/tea - At lunch some light and healthy food with vegetables and/or rice -pasta/salad, for dinner depending of our energy and creativity!) We don't provide alcohol or "gourmet" food (for specific requirements, we recommend volunteers to let us know in advance). We all cook together.

    The chores can be psychically demanding, but not only. Gardening, cooking, fixing, fencing, cleaning, building, tidying, splitting wood, cutting, taking care of the animals… these are some of the tasks, and, essentially, we want you to enjoy all this with being part in the rural co-living experience :)
    One of our beliefs is that sharing knowledge and skills can empower and enrich people, we look forward to and to a positive approach of doing together in a collaborative way while the volunteer stays with us.
    Now that the Spring is arriving slowly slowly, our beautiful and big vegetable garden needs love, time and attention!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Italian, French, Catalan, Hebrew, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Shared rooms (all the rooms are in the main house, are big, bright and furnished)
    Roulotte (in Spring and Summer, it's outside!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in the heart of the Les Guilleries natural park (Catalonia)
    The natural area of Les Guilleries-Savassona is less known but this is why we love it. Characterized by extensive forests and cliffs overlooking the quiet waters of the Sau Reservoir. While this is an area dominated by the force of nature, it also has a rich heritage in terms of farmhouses, castles, chapels, churches and monasteries, which surprise us from time to time as it if they had come out of nowhere.
    ​We are 12 km. from the closest village of Vilanova de Sau, about 40 minutes’ drive from Vic and Sant Hilari de Sacalm. We are about 1 hour from Girona and about 1 hour and 30 minutes from Barcelona.

    How to get here?
    Airports: Girona or Barcelona Airport
    From Barcelona: Take the train (renfe) to Vic (our closest city)
    By car

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe in a modern and rural lifestyle that values openness, sharing, and collaboration. Our philosophy is based on human values, a shared economy ​​and respect for the rural environment and its sustainability .We consider ourselves flexible and open-minded people.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4h per day/ 6 days per week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 614147831913