Come and spend time in the Beautiful 1000 Islands, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 142 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in the beautiful area of 1000 Islands, and I can see the large ships go by on the river through my kitchen window. A short walk takes me into a national park with a small beach and boating access. There are hiking and mountain biking trails nearby, and plenty of places to walk or run.

    I enjoy kayaking (you are welcome to enjoy it) and travelling, but when I am home I teach yoga and meditation. I live in a quiet, friendly neighbourhood, and while life here is kind of slow, it is a relaxed, healthy place, and makes a great stop between city living in Montreal, Ottawa, or Toronto.

    There is always lots to do here in spring. We see signs of wildlife like foxes, pileated woodpeckers, and hawks, and there are plenty of chipmunks, squirrels, and other animals to enjoy, even though we can walk into the downtown area.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area I live in is an historic community and is considered to be the gateway to the 1000 Islands, on the St. Lawrence River, a uniquely beautiful part of Canada. Brockville is a typical Eastern Ontario small city, with a number of cultural activities, and is located 3 hours east of Toronto, 2 hours west of Montreal, and 1 hour south of Ottawa. I have a kayak and enjoy going out on the river, which provides a unique perspective of the area. This is a great area for walking, running, cycling (I have an old mountain bike available), and the area is full of trails and parks. The Aquatarium is a unique facility that engages visitors in learning about the river, there are museums, live theatre, and various cafes, pubs and restaurants to explore, often with live music. There is a quiet but creative community feel.

    I have travelled and lived in many parts of Canada, including remote northern communities, so can offer perspective in travelling to other parts of the country. I've worked with many different cultural groups as part of my work over the years with youth and communities across the country. I've also travelled and backpacked in other parts of the world, and love exchanging stories and experiences and learning about other places. English is my first language. I grew up in Montreal and have some French language, although I do not speak it often, I am always interested in learning.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a large backyard and even though I would like to take care of it myself I find I just cannot keep up. I would love to have someone stay here who is knowledgeable about gardening and would love to help me take care of the yard and a large flower bed, creating ways to inexpensively make it sustainable and manageable. The yard is mostly shaded with lots of hosta, a few trees, and a tiny pond. It is backed by a stand of trees and has a very natural feel. I would like help to improve the outside area, including a small back porch area, moving large stones around the pond, and generally creating ways to minimize the ongoing care requirements. It is a very natural and organic area at the moment, and I would be interested in adding a little vegetable gardening perhaps. Last year I planted some pole beans and the bunnies ate them all immediately:) Knowledge of operating a gas lawn mower, whipper snipper, etc. would be really helpful.

    I also would welcome any help with practical things in the house if weather is rainy. I would like to paint two small rooms, sometime this spring.

    I also welcome any technical help with my Mac computer or with social media.

    There are a variety of ways that a guest could have positive input and this is truly a wonderful part of the world, with a great deal to see and enjoy. Guests are always welcome to join me for classes including yin yoga, warm water yoga, and meditation. I often go to Ottawa for the day and I am happy to offer a ride.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My home is a small but quaint two bedroom home in a lovely location. Close to the heart of downtown but with a country feel. The second bedroom is small, and a bathroom would have to be shared. My house is clean and comfortable and includes internet access and a large kitchen. I would be interested in sharing new recipes and exchanging opportunities to cook. I am not vegan but enjoy all kinds of foods and culinary dishes, and as long as it is simple and healthy, I have a lot of flexibility towards meals. My lifestyle is relatively quiet and I enjoy a peaceful, calm environment. I live right next to a beautiful park on the river, and one can walk almost anywhere in the city.

    I prefer a stay to be a week or ten days, not much longer. This is partly because I live a relatively simple but busy lifestyle and find I can not always cook three meals a day. If someone is interested in cooking from time to time, or making a meal for themselves that would work:) I also like to head out on short trips from time to time throughout the summer months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to explore in this region, and as mentioned earlier there is easy access to some major urban areas that are filled with activities, sites, summer festivals and events. There are also many boat tours to historic sites like Boldt Castle on the St. Lawrence River, 1000 Islands Bridge, etc. Locally, one can walk or take a bus, and I could offer transportation now and then to local sites and/or Ottawa or Montreal. Train service is also available to Toronto, Montreal, or Ottawa with VIARail, as well as bus services (generally Megabus). There is a growing farmer's market in town, a good public library, a couple of yoga studios, an Arts Centre, cafes and pubs with live music, and easy access to the great outdoors:) This location is also just across the river from New York state and there are several border crossings for people interested in also experiencing the USA.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 599997293698