Enjoy East Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    318

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live with my very energetic 8yr old boy, and 1 roommate who works in construction, so he is either at work all day, or in bed resting, or just out.
    We also have 1 very cute orange kitty.
    We have 1 extra, furnished single bedroom on the main floor of the house. You'd have full access to our kitchen, shared bathroom, and living room.
    There is a deck, some neglected garden beds, and a trampoline that is never used in the backyard.
    Within 5 blocks of our house you will find: a Service Canada office (in case of immigration or SIN inquiries), a public library, a 24hr gym, multiple grocery stores and markets, restaurants representing several ethnicities, cafes, a pub, a hardware store, an accupuncturist, massage and hair/nail salons, plus many other services and even a park.

    I'm currently looking for 1 person to help with some housekeeping (especially washing dishes), some deeper cleaning, and helping with organizing excess belongings for sale on-line.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    I'm a single mom, with some physical limitations so I need some help organizing this house and keeping it clean. Looking for someone with a positive youthful energy, who's self motivated and able to tackle an organization project with little guidance.
    Gardening is an option, but if you like to do it for fun, you're welcome to it.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I like to show visitors around the city, and have some experience with hosting international guests and have also done a fair bit of traveling myself.
    I immigrated to Canada at 8 yrs of age, spoke fluent English after a year, but have been correcting my parents and others in their speech ever since, and I've had practice teaching other newcomers how to speak English like a local, (rather than what they teach in books).
    I don't go to bars or night clubs, but i can take you to some alternative music and dance events where you can meet some very interesting people.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Me->English, Russian; roommate->English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single furnished bedroom in a house of 3 bedrooms (2 on main floor and 1 in attic), shared bathroom and kitchen on main floor, and there's a separate basement suite.
    I have access to heavily discounted food, and a Costco membership. I can take you shopping with me, and we can figure out what we'll eat together. My son is pretty picky, so i have a set menu that i prepare for him, but I'm pretty open to trying anything myself that you would like to prepare for us.
    My roommate is exhausted after work, so would definitely appreciate a home-cooked meal, and would gladly contribute to the cost of ingredients. The roommate eats meat, I'm more flexible (though very health conscious), but my son is a vegetarian (he eats a lot of fruit!).
    I have a lot of different teas and coffee here, plus pastas and other grains and cooking necessities, plus fresh vegetables are accessible year-round in Vancouver.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in East Vancouver, not too far from downtown, the airport, the beaches and the mountains.
    It's very easy to get around the city from here, as transit is within 2 blocks in every direction. We now have a bike share program in Vancouver, currently the nearest bike parking stations are about 12 blocks away (though they are steadily expanding the program's coverage radius), and you can buy a daily plan to use them to get to downtown, Stanley park, to the beach, to transit centres, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 584415712783