Come and join us at our beautiful riverfront property in Wallaroo, New South Wales , Australia.

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 200 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Available now and seeking someone to help with the animals, garden and house chores...it's not hard work and the environment is interesting and fun.
    Choose your preferred activities from these:
    Gardening, looking after two big white dogs and Oscar the cat, cooking, domestic maintenance, driving the tractor, maintaining the pool, painting, presenting the B&B cottage, irrigation repairs, using the chain saw or log splitter etc

    This is a spectacular property on 80 Hectares (200 acres) of land fronting the Murrumbidgee River 25 minutes from Canberra, the nation's capital city . It is only a 3 hour drive to Sydney and enjoys spectacular Autumn colours, beautiful views and spectacular countryside. It is a beautiful 2 hour drive to the beach and 3 hours to the snow fields and you can borrow our van to get there on days off.
    The weather is pleasant now and the resort style heated pool still beckons for that after work swim and a yummy dinner on the terrace ! In May we will start lighting the open fire and prepare for our annual bon fires with friends and people coming from the neighbourhood to toast marshmallows and drink mulled wine.
    The homestead was built in 1994 and was awarded the Master Builders House of the year. Since then it has been continually developed and we are working for it to become a Function and Accommodation Centre soon. We host people coming for holidays and various functions. Accommodation is in a lovely room with its own ensuite facing North into the garden.

    We have two beautiful maremma dogs, a cat, a couple of horses, hundreds of kangaroo, deer, wombats and many more wild animals and birds to see and photograph.
    Dinner time is an important event every night and often there is local wine to sample. There are motorbikes, quads, canoes and sometimes a flight in our aerobatic aeroplane to see the countryside. We know that most people need their privacy some times as do we so we encourage our guests to do walks, visit the sites in town or generally relax in the garden when help is finished.
    There is sometimes paying work available at the neighbouring vineyards or restaurants if you want it. Our goal is to help our guests learn about Australian culture and share the beauty of this spectacular country side whilst getting some much needed help. If you want a break in beautiful surrounds close to , but far enough away from city life, this will make you smile !
    You can call Derek on mobile for more information.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn everything from making beds through gardening (dead heading roses, trimming trees, using mowers, chain saw, whipper snipper, weeding), painting, farming, cooking, driving the club car, a postie bike, farm machines, fencing tools, cattle mustering and many more activities. You may also get to fly in an aerobatic plane. Our guests enjoy swimming in the heated pool ,playing tennis or table tennis, walking , photography, cooking and many more activities....or just relaxing and listening to the birds.

  • Help

    Help

    It is a big house so there is often some cleaning, ironing and general maintenance but it's not hard work. We usually cook dinner together so it is a shared cultural exchange and it is not a part of the daily work routine. There is also some gardening (planting, weeding, mowing, leaf blowing ) as it is a property of 80 ha with a veggie garden, orchard and a beautiful rose garden. We have also a number of more specialised tasks for people who may be more interested in higher skilled activities such as mechanical , building, painting, farming tasks and so on. You can learn to operate a range of machines if you like and perform many tasks that will help you in later ventures. We prefer our guests to be 23 years old or more with some 'life' experiences.......'but that's negotiable.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Polish, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    W e offer our guests a beautiful King or Queen size bed in a large room with bathroom adjoined. Some nights we light the wooden fire and watch movies on the big screen after dinner or play pool or table tennis downstairs in the games room; or perhaps a sauna.....
    There is also a nice private caravan in the garden too but it is better for warmer months. It would suit a couple or young family.
    All food is fresh and top quality and provided free and we often take our guests shopping with us to ensure that we buy the right ingredients to create an interesting and varied menu each day. Food is a big part of the experience here and we often match local wines with our broad range of local and international cuisine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can still swim in the pool or in the river, fish, hike, run or walk, play tennis , ride on push bikes or a motorbike, drive the club car to the river, use the gym, take photos, read books, play piano, sightsee in Canberra, visit local places and vineyards and many more things to do !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    app. 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 571134883452