Helpers (TWO) in our Sculpture Garden, open to the public in Southern Spain

updated
Country

Spain

Favourited 239 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kitty and Nick run a sculpture Garden in the south of Spain. Kitty is a best selling author and award winning sculptor and Nick is an engineer and musician. The Garden is open to the public 2 Sundays a month (when we play classical chamber music) and other days by appointment and we give workshops in mosaics, ceramics, sculpting in cement etc.. It is a magical space that all visitors love, and return to again and again.
    Aside from well over 160 sculptures, the gardens themselves are a continuous evolving project, with a great variety of plants and trees.
    Our sculpture garden is situated in the mountains, 20 min drive from three seaside towns. There is a nearby village with several bars, bank, grocery store, even a night club. There are two bicycles for your use.
    You'll find our sculpture garden website in Andalucia.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the varied life and culture in Andalucia. Learn about life in an agricultural area.

  • Help

    Help

    PLEASE NOTE that we will ONLY host a couple or two friends, as it can be a bit lonely otherwise, so please DO NOT CONTACT us if you are not! We also prefer at least a month, preferably longer. Please note that we'll only accept smokers as a last resort.
    It is a place where you can gain experience in a wide variety of fields, and exercise your creativity and energy in diverse ways. A large part of the work consists of looking after the gardens (two acres), maintaining the sculptural installations etc. There are a few strenuous jobs such as building stone walls. Other help will depend on your individual know-how. Occasional tasks such as cleaning windows and helping with the main house. We may ask you to assist in welcoming visitors when we are open. No kids or pets please.
    Help is 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (though not weekends off please).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, Spanish, French, English, some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers have their own private accommodation away from the house with bathroom and kitchen (fridge, cooker, toaster, blender). It has it's own beautiful outside covered terrace with spectacular views. Also wifi.
    We ask volunteers to cook for themselves for which we provide a reasonable budget.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We've had volunteers almost continually over the last four years, and have had great experiences with all but two. People who love the outdoors, peace, nature, starry nights, clean air, music and art have a veritable field-day in this place. Without transportation it is slightly hard to get about, but we always offer to bring our helpers to town when we go, to have an opportunity to explore and go to the beach etc. There are buses to and from nearby villages to the coast, also two bikes for your use, but the landscape is very hilly.
    Wonderful walking and hiking. Nightlife more or less zero, unless you want to get yourselves to the nearby village where there are 5 bars. In some cases we offer to pick you up if it is not too late, but be warned, it is not the right place if you like to party.
    For winter months we recommend you have some kind of work or study project as evenings can be long.
    Accommodation has (90 % reliable) wifi.
    It's an easy and spectacular bus ride to and from Granada.
    Our closest town is Almuñécar, a charming seaside town.
    First arrival is easy... Buses to Motril or Almuñecar, from there we pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 567187492563