Stay with our family by the sea in Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 191 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    My name is Tennille and my husband Gavin and I have 3 wonderful boys, 2 cats, a dog, chickens, ducks, rabbits and baby piglets. Our youngest two boys are aged 8 & 10 and our eldest is 19 - now living in his own flat.

    We live on a small farm and we are a fun, adventurous, family. We are very, very busy and live where we work. There are always lots of jobs to do everywhere. We operate a school on our property that is 100% outdoors. It is a social enterprise that provides a learning space for children to connect with nature and engage with interesting learning themes that have a nature focus. Children who come to our school LOVE it every day!

    We are surrounded by a beautiful native forest and the beach is at our doorstep. This environment is the children's 'classroom'. The animals are all part of the school too. We ALWAYS need help and support to maintain the property and our home.

    Our main focus at the moment is to build 4 open-air 'classrooms' (cabins) for our students from repurposed/recycled materials and the next project is to build composting toilets and shower rooms for the students. There is often gardening and general tidying/chopping wood to do as well.

    We live North of Auckland and although our property is quiet and private, the ocean is at the end of the driveway and we live only a 5-10 minute drive to the local shopping centre.

    *️️We are open to hosting couples and families as well as single people, as our children will enjoy getting to know other kids from around the world. However, if you are bringing your children some other rules do apply. Please ask us about this. For example, we just need to be clear with you that we are not a 'hotel' for your family to stay in. We have been treated like this in the past and the expectation of you living in our home is that you will do your hours and also contribute to daily tasks/cooking/cleaning just as you would in your own home. This is not part of your 'help' it is part of being a respectful and responsible guest in our home.*️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is a large, open and friendly. We often have lots of friends and people visiting. Our staff are here everyday too so you will always see them.

    We have travelled ourselves, as a family, to many other countries, and love learning from other people about a different language, food and culture. We enjoy sharing our lifestyle and culture and learning from others. Our children too are fascinated with other countries and cultures and are excited when we have visitors.

    Our family enjoys being active in walking, surfing, sailing, snorkelling, kayaking and swimming. Being right at the beach allows for this every day! If you are looking to be active and close to nature, while helping to make an impact at our school, then we're the family for you!

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to host you, in return for initiative and help with our projects and in our home.

    This could be helping out around the family home, playing with our kids and general household chores, garden work, building, construction, painting, or making school resources for our outdoor classroom. We also require help with weeding, planting, art projects, cooking, cleaning, tree/yard work and walking the dog! Our children are learning the piano and bass guitar.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As our guest, you will have your own room in the main house with our family. This is a double room which can be for a single or couple. The bed is Super King size. If you are a family you will all be able to share one bedroom as it is quite large. All linen and towels are provided and the bathroom you have to use is part of the main house, we will share this with you.

    Your stay includes accommodation, breakfast and an evening meal. (Not lunch because we are not often around to do this and you will need to arrange your own lunchtime meal) If you are travelling with your children you will need to contribute to the groceries and purchase additional food.

    We would expect 5 hours of work per day (each adult) and would love to help you with sightseeing and local travel around our area when you have your own time off. We are very flexible and accommodating so are more than happy to negotiate all of the above.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you have time off you are more than welcome to use our surfboards, SUP, kayaks and bikes. Local sights include farmers markets, cafes, restaurants, bars and several beaches and regional parks. Transport to Auckland City is approx 40 minutes by car and a bus station is nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 542782355865