Looking for Chef + Guest Manager for art retreat groups in Tuscany/Umbria, Italy

updated
Country

Italy

Favourited 1171 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 24 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for 2 workaways - one chef and one guest manager to help on the art retreats we run in the countryside on the border of Tuscany & Umbria, Italy. Groups are around 6-8 guests only and we live in a beautiful hill overlooking the iconic Tuscan landscape. Our seasons run from April - July and Sept - Oct - so for these main positions we need people for the first and/or second half of the the seasons.

    One other possibility is a short-term position late March for a couple of weeks helping to get the house and garden/yard ready.

    The main jobs needed include helping us run this successful art business abroad - cooking for guests, cleaning their rooms, maintaining the garden and vegetable patch. Workaways need to be self-motivated, personable, detail-oriented, and flexible - and in turn, we are very accommodating, offering a wonderful experience that many workaways have enjoyed throughout the past few years. (Many whom have visited as friends in future years!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have had cooks/chefs here for a number of years, and all have benefitted by gaining an true understanding of Italian food in a low pressure, small number environment, with independence and a good food budget - enabling them to gain experience of the traditional food of this country. This would be a paid position with lovely accommodation.

  • Help

    Help

    In April we will begin the courses again and will need a general workawayer to help with running the house and dealing with guests, and another to be in charge of providing food (which is a paid position) for small groups either for April through the end of July, and/or September and October. Couples are preferred, but not required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English mother tongue, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have guest accommodation downstairs, with rooms for 6 or 7 guests comfortably, and an art studio too. Upstairs is the private quarters where we live and were you would be too, in a 5 bedroom apartment with your own bathroom. The farmhouse is very large and quite old, but pretty well restored throughout and it's a friendly atmosphere.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near a beautiful Tuscan hilltop town, Chiusi, and the railway station there serves all the major cities in Italy. Around an hour away are Rome, Florence, Arezzo, Siena, Perugia, Assisi and the estate also provides two tennis courts, three swimming pools and an amazing natural environment in which to unwind. This is a stunning and classic tuscan landscape where people travel thousands of miles to be able to photograph and paint. Julian is a teacher with nearly 25 years experience with all types of students and would always be happy to help any workaway with interest in art during the free time of the day. The art studio is available during off-class times that you can use.

    Above all, we would like help from someone with a friendly and positive disposition, happy to turn their hands to whatever is needed knowing that all help is greatly appreciated. It is fair to say that many of our workaways come back to work, or stay much longer than they expected, or sometimes just pop by to say hi for a week or so and get stuck in again. There is always plenty to do, and we work hard, but it's lovely here and we make the most of the opportunity to live in a beautiful place with a dog, a few cats and lots of smiles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 517486513118