Help out on a small family run riding centre (9 horses) and small holding (20 sheep, 8 chickens) in south west Wales

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    16/07/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    117

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family run riding centre (9 horses) and small holding (20 sheep, 8 chickens) in south west wales UK specialising in riding holidays and B&B. My husband does all the heavy farm work and cooking and I do all the work with the horses. We have clients from all over the UK, Europe and some from further away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the 9 horses we have here for riding holidays, a person who is a competent rider with good horse care knowledge and light enough to ride small ponies. A person who is cheerful to work with, doesn't mind some days being long and good with the public. The work would be as a trek escort to open and shut gates on rides and general groom helping with all the activities such as grooming, mucking out, tack cleaning and exercising horses and ponies. We are also in quite a remote part of the countryside so we need someone who doesn't mind the quiet and peace of the countryside and living as part of the family. We only take one helper at a time as we are a very small yard.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be riding in stunning scenery and living as part of the family and meeting all sorts of clients who come here on holiday, and we'll take you out to show you the area when we have a spare moment ! and we have a small day fishing boat to show you Wales from the sea. The main attraction here is working with our horses and ponies.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a farmhouse cottage and you will have your own bedroom with (sometimes) shared bathroom. All food is provided and you help yourself to anything for breakfast and lunch and we cook the evening meal for everybody.
    We prefer to have non-smokers and you cannot bring your dog, I say this as I've been asked before about bringing pets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are in a remote area with the nearest village 2.5 miles away and our local town 20 mins away and there is no public transport, but we will make sure when you have time off that we take you around the area if possible, but it all depends on what work we are doing with the horses as that takes priority and takes up most of our time, but relaxing here at the farm is good.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 479139867347