Come and help on an Irish coutryside setting close to Dublin airport



Favourited 464 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Hi we have some great workawayers leaving in the coming days so we have availability immediately. We can offers places until the end of May. Thanks

    We are a busy family home with some organic vegetable growing, a small hen and egg production project, some horses and the beginnings of an orchard and lots of ideas about eco projects too - we have lots and lots to do in a positive and relaxed environment. We are looking for people with initiative, ideas and motivation to get things done. We are only beginning our journey of becoming more waste efficient and self-sustainable, so we would love people who we could learn from as well. We do expect people who can actually work, not just have some notion about what work might be. If you haven't been shown how to sweep a floor you are probably not the right candidate for us. If you tell us that you are familiar with outside work and that you have lots of experience with manual labour we expect you not to complain. Please be honest so that we can manage each other’s expectations-It will save us all a lot of time. We do like to have a laugh too so being able to take a lighthearted view of it all helps - It has to be fun and work for everyone.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Language, culture and experience. We would love to share a little piece of our family life with like minded and interesting people. We would like to expose our children to different cultures, languages and thinking. We are a busy home with lots of projects going on and so workawayers can join in and enjoy learning with us.
    Carpentry and building.
    Growing fruit and veg.
    Develop our hen project.
    We are 45 mins from Dublin city centre so can offer the best of both worlds .

  • Help


    Our aim is to always have a team of workawayers, with roles being split between ‘inside’ with the children and ‘outside’ working on the various projects. We already have a lot of project ideas, but are looking for upbeat people to get things going. Projects include finishing off the workawayer accomodation, getting the organic vegetable garden and poly tunnel ready for late planting, expanding the hen project, or anything else that you want to get your hands dirty or involved in!

    Right now we are looking for someone to specifically help with the children inside. The work involved is mainly watching over our 2 youngest girls, preparing them food and keeping the house tidy during the day. We have a team of workawayers but this role will only be for the children. We ask for a minimum of a month but prefer longer.

    We give preference to workawayers who have demonstrated independence and maturity in previous workaways. Our aim is to have the workawayer team entirely independent from our home so people who want to live and share with fellow travellers is a must.

    We are always interested in hosting workawayers with particular skill sets - please let us know particularly if you have a craft trade or skill.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French and a little Italian

  • Accommodation


    We have been hard at work completing the workawayer flat, which is self-sufficient from our home. The flat has two separate bedrooms so depending on the amount of workawayers at the time bedrooms may be shared. Workawayers will have their own fully equipped kitchen, lounge with TV and computer. All food will be provided. You will be expected to cook for yourselves, but we aim to share at least one meal a day.
    The town of Dunshaughlin is also an easy 15 minute walk away.

    Workawayers have asked that we note that although the village is close by it is not a pleasant walk especially in Winter time, there are no footpaths and particularly when it is dark it is potentially dangerous.
    There is a good taxi service and we try to facilitate by collecting and dropping off where possible but we cannot guarantee that we can do this all of the time especially at night.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to Dublin city but still immersed in country life. Great construction and carpentry experience to be had.
    Lots and lots to do. Just over one mile to our local village which has a great bus service to the city and to the airport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 457324964796