Stay with a friendly, easy going family and help on our hobby farm near Okaihau, New Zealand

Favourited 325 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    14/12/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly, easy going family with 4 kids. We have a 170 acre hobby farm with 100 acres of covenanted native bush. We are pretty much organic, the kids and animals are free range, and we love living in the Far North on our beautiful property.
    We are sociable and there is always lots going on but we have heaps of space here so there is also lots of scope for privacy and contemplation!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We have heaps to do here as we have large organic vegetable gardens, orchards, animals (highland cattle, awapara sheep, chooks, ducks, dogs, pigs,), 2 houses to keep clean, maintain and improve, a heap of firewood to move, cut, tracks to cut/clear in the bush, fruit and veges to harvest, bottle etc, a few sheds to build, as well as of course doing stuff with the kids and generally having fun!

    We would particularly love to host anyone that has building/carpentry skills, lumberjack skills, farm skills, painting experience, a strong interest or experience in gardening or permaculture, or someone with a genuine love of children who wants to experience being a real part of our family during their stay.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 bedroom house away from main house, which has some finishing (painting etc) to do but is perfectly comfortable with small kitchen, bathroom, tv, fireplace etc...everything you will need.
    Meals can be with us or you can make your own...whatever you prefer. We eat (mostly) healthy food with lots of fresh fruit, veges and meat from our property. We don't generally eat many sweet things so bring your own if you are a sweet tooth! We don't provide alcohol but you are welcome to bring some if you like to have a drink in the evenings :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live half an hour from Kerikeri, 10 mins from Okaihau (our nearest town). We can pick up from the bus in Kerikeri or Kaikohe, or from Okaihau. We often know in advance which days we are coming into town so check before you book your bus. There are many beautiful spots around here - rivers, waterfalls, forests, walking tracks, the Hokianga Harbour is only 5 minutes down the road, as well as the oldest (and one of the most beautiful!) pubs in New Zealand. Amazing beaches Paihia and Opononi only 45 minutes away. We are very close to one end of the Twin Coast Cycle Trail, which passes right by us and takes you to the Hokianga Harbour, as well as going all the way to the Bay of Islands. We have bikes available to explore this awesome track which is one of the 'Great Rides' of New Zealand.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn what it is like to be part of a big Kiwi family, and experience a rural and farming lifestyle.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours per day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album





















Host ref number: 456483158121