Come and join our remote Kiwi experience in Pelorus Sounds, New Zealand

updated
Country

New Zealand

Favourited 223 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    150

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    99.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi

    We run a small Kiwi lodge in a remote part of the Pelorus Sounds. Access to us is by boat only and we have electricity from a generator and we filter water from a creek. Our lodge has four bedrooms and a small restaurant and most of our guests are from New Zealand. Rob is a Kiwi and I am a Scot and we are fairly new to this business having worked in many other countries before settling here in New Zealand. We love meeting new people which is why we have this business, and as travelers ourselves we want to open our lodge to young travelers so that they can experience living 'off grid' in NZ and we can find out more about their experiences.

    The help required is varied throughout the year, and weather dependent, so we are looking for people who are flexible and who don't mind trying new things. Examples of what other have done here are things like upgrading the paths, landscaping, improving some of the facilities, helping with visiting tourists, as well as helping around the house. The rewards are many. The location is perfect if you enjoy hiking, fishing, kayaking, or swimming. We have seen orca and dolphin our bay as well as rather beautiful stingray. There is also a lot of birdlife. It is just a beautiful and remote part of the world. You have to see it to fully appreciate it.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During your stay you will meet many different locals. You can take boat trips and learn about mussel farming and logging, or you can walk a bit and learn about sheep farming and possum hunting. Our neighbors have a 300 acre sheep farm that has been in their family for five generations. I (Anne) was also an English teacher in my past life ( (trained to Master's degree level ) so I am more than happy to help and advise on learning English. Our last helpers also went fishing in our dinghy using our fishing rods and caught lots of different NZ fish ( not all of them edible).

  • Help

    Help

    The chores are varied throughout the year and is very weather dependent. On sunny days there is a lot of landscaping and gardening. On wet days a lot of general maintenance and help. There is also work inside helping with the housekeeping and tidying up. As we are remote access, we have to be self sufficient so there is always something to do. BUT because we are remote access, it is difficult to get fresh food more than a couple of times a week, so catering for vegetarians and vegans or GF diets is extremely difficult for us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have bunk houses with their own showers and kitchen facilities for travellers although we do like to have meals together with visiting travellers so that we can chat. In the winter months when the lodge is closed, travelers can choose from any of the available apartments.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As the location is boat access only and we are surrounded by water, you can spend your time off kayaking, fishing, or swimming. There are also walking tracks and some of the most beautiful views in New Zealand. The Pelorus Mailboat comes every day and leaves Havelock in Marlborough at 10:00 am.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 448998727779