Guatape near Medellin - Looking for a Couple with solid construction & general handyman skills to help improve our small finca in a beautiful setting

Country

Colombia

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    389

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Swiss-Colombian family living in Medellin. Our weekend getaway is a small country home ('finca') near Guatape, in a beautiful and quiet setting and direct access to the lake. The finca and garden can always use some improving to do for which we are looking for a person or couple with solid woodworking, masonry, building skills. This job is perfect for people who love nature and are passionate about home improvement & gardening. A reasonable stay would be 2-3 weeks, but we will consider a shorter stay depending on the individual skills and what project could be achieved during that time. Looking forward to your messages! :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This place will let you reconnect with nature and allow you to use your home improvement skills to the max. We are very open to ideas and suggestions and the sky will be your limit. During the week you will have the place all to yourself (although you might get visited by the neighboring farmer and his dog, his cows and the many birds of this area), and on the weekends we would join you with our little son.

  • Help

    Help

    Our small country home ('finca') near Guatape can always use some improving to do for which we are looking for a couple with solid woodworking, masonry, building skills.
    Examples: build an outside brick fireplace/oven, build a pergola, install a window on the mezzanine, attach drains to the roof, build a gazebo with wooden table and benches, build a nice garden path, plant flowers, build and plant elevated vegetable patches, small paint jobs and fixing things, any other creative and useful ideas you might have. We will only be visiting on weekends so during the week you'd be on your own to enjoy hiking in the region, swimming and fishing in the lake etc. We will obviously provide you with food and the required building materials and support you during weekends.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, Spanish, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our finca is a small and very cozy place. It has a generous living/dining room, small kitchen and bathroom/shower (no warm water for the moment, that's one of things that need fixing) and a mezzanine with mattresses to sleep. The living room opens on the deck with a beautiful vista on the lake of Guatape where you can swim and fish.
    The temperatures can drop quite a bit at night but it never gets really cold and we have really thick duvets that'll keep you nice and warm at night.
    The kitchen stove runs on gas and the house has electricity for the fridge, radio etc. The finca does not have internet or TV so bring a book. In the forest next to the house you can gather firewood to light a bonfire at night, listen to the sounds of nature and marvel at the starlit sky. This place is perfect to relax, meditate, disconnect and live a simple, healthy lifestyle in tune with nature.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can discover the surrounding areas on short or long hikes, swim and fish in the lake. A 45min walk away you will get to the road where you can catch one of the many buses that'll bring you to the quaint village of Guatape where you can do some shopping, enjoy the local cuisine and stroll the colorful alleys.
    The people of this region are among the friendliest that you will meet while in Colombia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 422844679826