Farm stay in the Ottawa Valley, ON, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have two farm stay cottages on our farm in the beautiful Ottawa valley in Ontario, Canada. We host families, kids camps and retreats. Our 140 acres of mainly forest and a couple of fields is home to our herd of horses, cows, sheep, donkey, chickens, pigs and ducks. You can reach us via Greyhound bus service which will get you to the nearest town and we can pick you up from there. We live in a remote area with no public transport.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will meet a lot of people who come to stay on our farm, many from other cultures. You will get to meet and interact with local people and visit the small towns in our area and join in local activities. We speak English.

  • Help

    Help

    If you love animals and nature you will love it here. You will need to be flexible and able to help out where needed. There are numerous jobs that need to be done alongside myself as we entertain the visitors with activities on the farm. Someone who likes children would be important especially when we host our kids camp in July. We need help with weeding the garden, leading a pony on the trail and cleaning the cottages when we have a changeover of guests.

    Come September we will need help with moving and piling firewood ready for winter and removing docks from nearby Lake Clear, physical strength is required for the latter.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with us in our house, it's just my husband and I and a couple of cats. You will have your own bedroom and meals will be provided. We grow a lot of our own food and raise our own meat. A little help in the kitchen would be appreciated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My passion is Natural Horsemanship and passing on this knowledge to anyone interested. I am a level 4 student of the Parelli method. I take in horses from time to time for training and I do natural horse trimming. We sometimes hang out at the lake on a hot afternoon. Most of our jobs are done in the morning and evening allowing time to relax in the afternoons.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 388867739381