Need help outdoors East Anglia coastline near the beach! In England, UK now please! lots of animals and peace

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 373 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/12/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Can you work on your own? ARE YOU RELIABLE AND DEPENDABLE? do you have initiative and some basic skills in woodwork?
    I have clean quiet room in a nice peaceful tranquil house in a little natural corner of Norfolk, half a mile from the sea, looking for a nice easy going quiet natured workaway occupant, who can speak English well enough to understand a sentence at a time (level 2 minimum?) available now.
    Tasks are predominantly outdoor, wood work and painting, some digging, some carpentry and animal feeding/care.
    Only suitable for a male applicant due to being quite strenuous. So male applicants only please.
    Right this moment I am looking for someone who has a bit of experience in maintenance, with some woodwork skills, and with some common sense who is able to get on with things on their own. I have a really nice easy going Canadian workaway friend here right now, so you would not be on your own. Just coming into the English horseracing season, so lots of trips to the races if you are interested, and nights to stay in and discover Cambridge. References from a previous job or host required.

    AND PLEASE NOTE: Applicants must be able to speak English well enough to understand and speak a sentence at a time please, maybe level 2 would be a minimum requirement, very important for safety reasons with animals around the place and for personal safety when using equipment.

    I will take you out and about when I can and time permitting, including trips to Cambridge and Norwich, horse racing and swimming and gym if you want, and do my best to cook you good meals using local produce and home recipes. There is always a home made cake for you to eat as well!
    I do not have children and I am not looking for a baby sitter or a carer, but it would be nice to have someone with a good sense of humor and who likes having a bit of fun.


    I run a very busy bed and breakfast here on the North Norfolk coastline, being located just half a mile from a sandy beach that you can walk to easily. Until late March it is very quiet here, a few guests at random times, but nothing compared to the mayhem of the summer. Because of the public nature of my home, references from either a past job, or from a college tutor or previous host will be required.

    I have a bike you can use if you want to.
    I don't have children to contend with so am not looking for a built in baby sitter! pig feeding would be an asset!
    Very quiet and laid back here with lots of wildlife and natural stuff... no night clubs so you must be happy to accept that fact although there are two local pubs within walking distance

    Interested? ... send me an email

    Previous workaway helps have stayed for nearly a year, 5 months and six months, but I would like to suggest a two week trial period and reassess after that time to see if we are happy mutually.


    I am easy to live with, can be fun, and above all I love my animals

    I can offer a comfortable room, a hot shower or bath and food in return for 4 hours help on a monday to friday basis.
    It is very quiet here, the countryside is quite vast as far as England goes, but I am only 5 miles away from two towns and 40 minutes from the city of Norwich
    The animals are everything to me and all of them are pets (including the 24 pigs) so someone who loves animals is a must please. My veg garden is organic, but nothing much is growing in the winter months, so keeping it tidy is the only thing going on with it until late March. I would like to suggest that we try a couple of weeks trial to make sure we are both happy with each other first before committing to any longer!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    painting, gardening, animal care, indoor and outdoor maintenance, in fact anything you can turn your hand to and enjoy doing! ... shed building and house painting is the first priority please but not essential, carpentry skills a bonus but any help is greatly appreciated

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am told I talk a lot, so they can certainly learn English!... also learn how to care for animals and maybe bake the best cake in Norfolk!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room within private house, to share the lounge and kitchen area and two bathrooms. Use of washing machine and general facilities
    NO smoking within the premises please, but you are welcome to smoke outside the door.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off:
    I will take you out and about with me pretty much whenever I go, this could include trips to Cambridge, trips to Norwich and horse racing. I can take you shopping when necessary. I will also take you to the train if you wish to go on your own adventures. I have taken my recent lovely helpers to york, to Cambridge, to the cinema and all over Norfolk to see the sights.
    Around here there is a lovely boat trip out on the sea to see the local seal colony, two national trust old English heritages grand houses. There are lots of places of interest to visit if you like history.
    Wifi in the house, unrestricted use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 373535112826