Learn About Australian Sheep Farming at Kingston SE in South Australia on Coast between Adelaide and Melbourne

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 254 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    43  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI, My wife and I own and live on a 4000 acre farm near the coast at Kingston SE in south Australia where we have a lot of sheep a few sheep dogs and numerous Kangaroos. As we are now semi retired we are not working with sheep for long periods, more time is spent showing guests around our farm and our district, and doing odd jobs. We also try to have one girl here for a long period to do at least their 88 days

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda informática / Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Live and learn the real Australian rural lifestyle

  • Help

    Help

    Most work is easy and involves moving sheep around paddocks and in yards, feeding sheep, assisting me with general repairs. Supervision is given until you are confident so no previous experience is necessary but I am happier if you are prepared to stay a while if work suits you. Work hours varies depending on time of year but is pretty easy. Some house work might be required so preference has been given to females in past. Need to have good communication and be prepared to mix with us and other backpackers that may be here.
    Due to change in our family we also now need some help looking after our 2 grand children and housework at times.
    In fact we are now only accepting female backpackers

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Australian English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Live and dine in house with us.
    We provide all meals😳

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 20 km out of Kingston ,small town on the coast, there is a lot of natural bush (trees) around here so plenty of birds and kangaroos. Pretty sunsets and stars. Beach is close and is a great spot for swimming and small surf in the warm weather. We are semiretired so we enjoy showing guests around the district and learning about your country. With occasional trip to outback stations for longer stayers.
    I enjoy listening to music, particularly country and earlier pop with a large collection . Also restoring old wind up music machines

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours a day, no more than 5 days a week.




























Host ref number: 362539981453