Volunteers needed to help on a small-holding in beautiful Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    50

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family, myself (Anthéa) and three outgoing children (oldest is 15 and twins of 11) living on small holding in a peaceful rural setting.

    There is a small range of livestock which include 2 goats, and 3 hens and cockrel which all need daily care throughout the year, as well as on going repairs to the fence and outbuildings.
    From spring onwards hay is made for the following year.
    The vegetable plot and fruit trees/bushes, are where a large part of our food comes from.
    All which need watering,
    de weeding and collecting the produce when ready.

    I'm currently in the process of converting an old barn into our main home and would love some help with finishing off some building projects.

    I run a kennel and cattery so there are always extra dogs and cats to care for and walk as well as my own 3 dogs and cats.

    There is always chance to practice and exchange languages with english, french.

    We are a sociable, dynamic and creative family who live life to the full and enjoy have fun and a good laugh.

    In our sparetime we like to bicycle ride, explore different parts of the region, go swimming, play games (indoor and outdoor) and watch films.
    This year our annual holiday is at the beginning of July , and I'm looking for a housesitter and someone who will be willing to help look after the animals whilst we away for a week.

    It is a very beautiful part of Brittany we live and not far from lovely walks, bicycle trails, beaches to the north and west or old towns with daily markets.

    We enjoying meeting people and learning new skills in a relaxed and happy environment.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in a fun, family environment with a relaxed atmosphere, whilst having a small taste of what it is like to live on a small holding, working in a team and learning about the culture in Brittany.

  • Help

    Help

    - help to look after animals around the property and help keeping the garden tidy . The best bit is using the ride-on-lawn Mower.
    - Tending to the vegetable and fruit trees- watering , deweeding and picking and conserving the produce when ready.
    - House-sittering : a week beginning of July to look after the animals whilst we are away.

    Hope to hear from you.

    Anthea

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Due to the converted barn still being under renovation, there is a spacious tent with proper beds and sitting area for guest situated in the garden. With close access to the main house.
    Bathroom , dinning area and kitchen facilities are in the converted barn.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have spare bicycles that you can use whilst you stay as we do alot of bicycle riding in our spare time, as well as going to the local swimming pool ( entrance fee 4€).

    I would also be more than happy to take you sight seeing.
    Donations towards fuel costs would be welcome.

    You can get to us: by ferry coming in at Roscoff port
    Or
    by plane, arriving at Paris or Brest airports
    and getting the SNCF train to the railway station in Carhaix.

    Please note: If coming by train from Paris there is a changeover at Guingamp.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week














Host ref number: 359448287735