Enjoy the outdoors, gorgeous mountains, lakes, rivers and animals (domestic and wild) on a horse ranch in Montana, USA

updated
Country

United States

Favourited 318 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    12/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1099

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband Jim (62) and me (Donna/57) and our 17 year old son Dean are happy, upbeat folks with good positive energy. Jim is a world class musician who toured with such legends as Isaac Hays and Edgar Winter, and has also produced, composed and arranged music alongside other well known greats. Donna is a self-employed mortgage broker who originates loans in California and Montana, and Dean is a National Honor Society student in high school.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We have a 20 acre property bordering the US Forest Service land with 8 horses, 4 dogs, 40 chickens, and 3 cats. We also grow and bale hay for the horses once a year. There are always fencing, staining, painting, gardening (organic)/weeding, tree removal, housework (laundry, dishes, cooking, organizing, cleaning) feeding and watering the animals, horse area maintenance (including poop, poop and more poop), some furniture to refinish, plants to water and other projects. Did I mention weeding? ;-) I would love particularly to have a person that enjoys and is experienced riding and exercising horses, and Jim would love to have someone help him with property maintenance projects, so someone willing to help with just about anything would be awesome, but riding/exercising the horses (other than feeding and poop) is not necessary if you don't have experience. We can usually accommodate someone who's desire is to enjoy the horses during the warm weather months of April (sometimes very chilly) through October (October is also sometimes very chilly), although if you want to come in the winter, Jim loves having someone feed the horses/clean up poopoo and riding in the cold and snow is okay as well. Since I'm always tied to my desk, Jim usually handles most of these chores and he needs a break! Also, the horses will just sit around until we have time to exercise and ride them. I absolutely love, love seeing people enjoy our horses and the putting them to work and the horses love it too! We have a large riding arena and small round pen for working with the horses, plus both English saddles (for arena work) and Western saddles (for trail rides).

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our ranch is for someone who loves the mountains, outdoors, nature, trees and animals. Our 20 acre property joins up to the US Forest Service land, with endless trails and roads to hike, ride (horses/bikes) and explore.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English - fluency is not necessary

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a queen sized bed in the private basement bedroom, one twin sized bed in another basement area with less privacy, plus a twin sized bed in a private bedroom on the main floor of the home next to Dean's bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are abundant rivers, lakes, hiking areas, fishing, and a ski area 30 minutes away. Yellowstone and Glacier National Parks are within a reasonable driving distance as well. Please note that we are in a rural area about 10 minutes from the small town of Darby, 30 minutes from the larger town of Hamilton, and 1.5 hours from the City of Missoula. There is no public transportation, so we are happy pick up/drop off our workaways at the Missoula, MT, airport (or send a workaway). If you have a driving license and insurance, you can borrow our old ranch truck to go exploring. I am always intensely working in my home office in the loft above the kitchen so you won't see much of me during the work week, but Jim loves to chat (particularly in the kitchen at meal time) so beware! ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

My Photo Album

Guest House Living Room
Guest House Bedroom











Host ref number: 353644985747