Venez-nous aider à finir notre construction écologique en bauge pour héberger nos futurs workawayers ! Athens, aux USA

mis à jour


Enregistré comme favori 27 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

  • Description


    Hello!! My husband, our 3 kids and I are building an eco friendly farm out of cob. We are currently working on completing our 38x40 workshop that is almost complete. We built a cob barn that still has a little bit of work left to do on it. We live on 85 acres in beautiful East Tennessee and have pigs, chickens, dogs, goats and rabbits as well as a large garden. It’s best to start work early 10:00 AM because the afternoons can be hot and are best enjoyed relaxing in the hammock under a shade tree! We are COMPLETELY off grid-we have solar for electricity, use rainwater as our house and drinking water and use compost toilets. Animals are allowed, however we do have 2 German Shepherds, one male and one non-neutered female. Our male is dominant and does not get along with other dogs. However we do have runs for them and they stay on it until the afternoons when we put our farm animals up for the night. Our goats and chickens have free reign over the 85 acres. If you bring a dog please make sure they will not be aggressive to these animals or you can bring a lead chain to keep all animals free from harm while they roam. Children are very welcome also! We encourage our children to get involved and believe in teaching them about our life as much as possible. We love music and singing! Bring instruments if you have them. I am re-learning the alto saxophone and one of our children is learning the ukulele. We are very excited to be a host and are looking forward to helping others achieve their dreams like we are! This summer we will be completing our cob workshop and barn. We will also be building a cob workaway house, a cob AirBNB and a cob butchering house.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You’ll be staying in beautiful East Tennessee. We are about an hour from the Smokey Mountains. We are working to be as self sustained as possible and build as natural of an environment as possible. Learn about being self sustained. Here you can learn about recycling materials to use for building, solar systems, rain water collection and natural building. Learn how a farm operates and help in the day to day operations, foraging for food and animal husbandry. We would love to educate you on cob building and get to experience people from all walks of life!

  • Aide


    Cobbing is fun! But it is also ALOT of hard work. It’s heavy, messy and you will work your entire body working with it. Please be prepared for this. The work will depend on the timing of your stay and where we are at in the projects. We will be doing everything ourselves from digging the footings, shoveling gravel, mixing and pouring concrete, mixing cob, carrying buckets of water to mix cob, putting up the cob by hand and pitchfork, pounding the cob, cutting timbers for roof structures, doors and windows, putting on the roof, running water lines, etc. We will also have a garden that we may need help in at times. Days off depend on the weather and if we have family or farm tasks we need to do on our own.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées


  • Hébergement


    At this time, we can only provide tent accommodations. Our family of 5 is living in a 580 square foot area until we get our permanent house built. We do have one tent that will sleep 4 comfortably, one that will sleep 3 and 2 more that will sleep 2 comfortably each. I can provide a few blankets and pillows if needed. We also have hammocks if anyone is interested. Keep in mind, we are completely off grid. We have solar power, compost toilets and rainwater. Shower will be an outdoor shower with only cold water running to it. If you are savvy enough and want hot water you will be able to do that as you desire. There is a composting toilet outhouse at your camp site. Food will be provided and we do not have ANY dietary restrictions. We can provide 3 meals a day and snacks as finances allow us. If you have dietary restrictions please let me know and we can communicate on how to accommodate that. I usually cook but may need assistance with that at times. There may be several occasions where I will provide you food to cook on your own. Especially breakfast because work does not start until 10:00. You will not have a fridge at the camp site so keep that in mind as well. At your camp site internet access is spotty. Some people get service and others don’t. Some spots have service and others don’t. There is also no electricity there at this time. We do have means to charge your phones though. We are private people and will respect your privacy as well. After a long days work we enjoy our quiet time with our family and often have other personal things to tend to. That being said your camp site is located in a private area where you can recharge or explore. We often need to recharge our minds and bodies on our days off as well so I will provide you with food on your days off to make as you desire. Your cooking method will over over an open fire with a cooking grate. If you have a camp cook stove you can use that as well. We have a fire pit set up, plates and utensils, pans and other items for you to use. There is also running water at your camp site. We typically limit our trips to town to once a week. If you do not have transportation this will be your opportunity to ride along and get what you need. We really are fun and laid back people. But we also enjoy our time off with family or to plan for our projects.

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    You are more than welcome to explore our 85 acres! If you have your own transportation the mountains around us have several hiking trails and beautiful waterfalls. We are about 1.5 hours from Dollywood theme park. Walmart is about 15 minutes from us as well as a gas station 5 minutes away. We are about 25 minutes from the Lost Sea, and underground cave system with a lake in it and Ruby Falls which is an underground waterfall. Often times there are events such as rodeos, outdoor music festivals or seasonal festivals to attend. We have a movie theater and bowling alley as well. We love to enjoy the stars and a bonfire after a days work also. We prefer to keep things simple and calm in our world and love the nature all around us. We are grateful to have our land, our home, our children and our health to enable us to travel down this beautiful path of life. We are open minded and would love for you to feel welcome and open here. All we ask is that you maintain the decency of our home and children, be good stewards of the land and take pride in your contribution!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Animal building is underway!
Workaway house is ready for the slab to be poured.

N° de référence hôte : 344559182175