Come and help renovate a farmhouse in the beautiful, little-known Monferrato region of Piedmont, Italy

updated
Country

Italy

Favourited 306 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a professional photographer (British, resident in Italy 28 years) living in a renovated farmhouse divided into two separate houses in the beautiful area of the Monferrato region which is part of a UNESCO site, in Piedmont. Renovation work is ongoing but almost finished. It is an eco project, powered by photovoltaic panels and wood-fired central-heating. It is on a hill, with a fantastic panoramic view, surrounded by woods, vineyards and olive groves.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda informática / Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is wonderful for walking, running, cycling, horse-riding, photography, creative painting, meditation etc. The towns often have festivals, concerts etc from spring through to late autumn, the area is renowned for its wines and gastronomy- especially truffles! having recently become a UNESCO Heritage Site there is lots to explore around.

  • Help

    Help

    I need some immediate help with the garden, about 1/4 hectres, which has been abandoned over the winter. There are fruit trees and a vegetable garden as well as flowerbeds to put in order. Other tasks include a well to rebuild, and an outhouse to complete, drystone walls to build, and a wooden bridge to mend. I also need help with the last restoration jobs in order to rent over the summer, so I am looking for people chiefly for April and May.

    There is also a large, hairy dog, Balu, who loves long walks...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is less than 2kms from the village, 10 min walk from bus route, 25kms from nearest large towns of Asti and Casale Monferrato, where there are train stations. Nearest airports are Genoa (120 km), Turin (90 km) and Malpensa (125 km).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Balu keeps a watchful eye on the local wildlife
Ti aspettiamo!
Winters can be cold!
the new stairs
View from the hill looking east
Work in progress
A corner of the garden
the vegetable garden
Balun helps paint the windows
Bridge at the back of the house
Part of the garden
interior - the mezzanine
The house is at the top of the hill
A corner of the house and garden
The front of the house












Host ref number: 317534541533