Help with planting, natural building and other projects on my land in Las Marias, Puerto Rico

updated
Country

Puerto Rico

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    16/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    186

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please read ALL thoroughly before sending a message. I can’t emphasize this enough.


    Hello, my name is Clint. I am originally from Minnesota where I was born and raised. Three years ago, I wanted new change and ended up here in beautiful Puerto Rico.

    I enjoy PR immensely. I have 25 acres here in Las Marias . I love the outdoors, here especially. Because of the warm, pleasant climate PR is known for, the possibilities are endless. You can spend most of your days outside, the bugs are present but not prevalent, and you can garden all year round. The colors are phenomenal; everywhere you go you’ll see amazing hues. Flowers are always bursting and fruits bloom in seasons, so there’s always something fresh to eat! Most of all, the land is very peaceful. We are away from much on the top of our own mountain and it’s very quiet and soothing and provides a place for much reflection and quiet time as well.

    My goal is to live as independently and sustainably as possible and this area is perfect for it. We recycle and reuse everything; food sources, energy sources and more. We have solar panels, our own rain catch water system that provides all the water for the house, and a gravity pump that pumps water halfway up the hill from the natural spring which provides all of our drinking water. We plant saplings and seedlings and nurture them daily to continue planting more on the land. I have cleared many areas now which I have planted with about a 100 different types of fruit and flowering trees.

    We compost all waste either in our large compost pile which can be turned into mulch to fertilize our trees for example, and our animal compost system with our pig. We also have a compost toilet (with a spectacular view!). The goal is to waste as little as possible; everything is being used in some way.


    I’m looking for people with hard work ethic, a love of outdoors, and those looking to learn more about living independently and sustainably off the grid. Also those interested in living consciously. You must have initiative as I need self motivators who can jump in and help wherever needed. I’m also open to new ideas that you may have. Here there is always something that can be done, so we strike a balance between work and downtime. I’m looking for everyone to be happy and have a fun time as well.

    Examples of work here:
    Tending Vegetable Garden
    Clearing pineapple plants of weeds
    Clearing out Orange Groves
    Helping build ponds or pipe systems on the land
    Building outdoor cabin
    Planting different trees/flowers
    Building a greenhouse

    Typical day is working in the morning and late afternoon/evening is free time. We work four hours daily 5 days a week.

    I would like to start building some small eco cabins made out of natural building techniques such as cob or bamboo soon, and be able to provide these to volunteers to stay in when they are completed.

    We are fairly isolated, with the closest store about 2 miles away, so you need to be comfortable with less people and city or town around you. With that being said, there is tons to do here on the land. There are many places to explore; we have waterfalls and creeks you can hike to, fields to picnic or camp in, a roof perfect for stargazing, a large hammock tied between our Mango tree and Palm tree, and so much more to explore. The property is connected to miles of public trails that were once used by the fruit farmers. The land is also excellent for bird watching. If you need to run in to town I’m also amenable to take you when it works.

    Accommodations:
    There is a house with electricity on the land that can sleep up to 8. I provide a fully stocked kitchen for you to use and food to eat (mostly plant based), including many organic items from right here on the land. I accommodate special dietary requests. Volunteers cook for themselves and clean up after themselves as well. Drinking water comes from our spring and needs to be collected down the hill. Sleeping accommodations will be a bunk bed upstairs and there are two bathrooms and a shower in the home. Mosquitos are not a huge hassle, but we are in the outdoors and they do exist here. I have mosquito nets by request.

    Camping:
    The place is perfect for camping; chose any spot on the property you wish. Many places have ocean views of Añasco Bay and also access to fresh flowing water from the creek and springs on the land.

    Where:
    25 acres in Las Marias, about 45 minutes interior east of the town Rincón.

    Pick up:
    I will pick you up in the town of Mayagüez, on the West side of the island and drive you to the land. Please make your own arrangements to get to Mayagüez. Cape air has flights out of San juan to Mayaguez for $50 and the public bus from San Juan will run about $20 to get to mayaguez.

    If any of this sounds like something you want to participate in send me a message, I’d love to hear from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    outdoor work,
    grass cutting,
    tending to trees,
    gardening/ landscape
    planting fruit trees,
    Building huts, cob homes, hobbit homes, tree house, etc, small dwellings that could be used for volunteers,
    building rain catchment systems,
    home care,
    set up solar system,
    trail making,
    art projects,
    cooking
    many other various projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Puerto Rico has much to offer for culture with a style all their own. It has beautiful lands and wonderful people. I am offering a experience which will bring you very close to the hearts of all Puerto Ricans and that is the land. Many depend on it to provide for their families and care for it deeply. With that respect we with build something that is in touch with nature and the land.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, basic spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a home on the land. A bed will be provided. I also have tents for those interested in camping.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Water falls and rivers with in walking distance. Tons of bird watching and great star gazing here. We do take day trips quite often to see some local sights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Erica and I planting the hugelkutur gardens with some micro greens.
George working the cob oven
Charlie preparing bananas for the solar dehydrator
The sunsets here are so amazing.
That's me with some fresh veggies.
The house
Eric and I working on the earthbag garage
Preparing our meals here on the land. We take care to eat as healthy as we can.
Views from our rooftop.
waterfall journey. Team work makes the dream work!
A group of volunteers hanging out.
Me and my old jeep. The best way to get around on the land.
views from the land after a rain and the clouds roll in.
the fresh water stream connected to the land

























Host ref number: 281364931919