260 acre off-grid farm - help, maintenance, in semi rural Queensland, Australia. living alternate, self sufficiency lifestyle

updated

Favourited 326 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    95

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi helpers and travelers,

    I have just returned from England and we have availabilty again.

    I went to the UK for a break and to improve both my physical and mental wellbeing. Whislt there I focused on getting over a tropical virus. I attented personal training 3x a week at first, and as my health returned I started yoga 1 to 1 and attended larger classes. I really enjoyed my recovery through fitness and seeing my progress in yoga and am looking to continue that now I am back on the farm. So I am especially looking for helpers that is/are keen to help me continue my training/learning yoga, pilates etc. See below for a full list of help required.

    I am Olly and Ethan (ten year old son) are looking for fun active people to share our everyday life.

    There is a minimum of 2 weeks trial to make sure we all get on and you are enjoying your stay. In addition or combined as part of the help, I would be happy to pay for some yoga, pilates or personal training sessions.

    A variety of help required at this time to suit everyone;

    Fencing, mowing, gardening, weeding, road and farm maintenance, farm weed control, keeping the place clean and tidy, keeping a shopping list, shopping, preparing meals, doing activities with Ethan, organising picnics, activities for everyone and trips out.

    More specifically different types of help as follows:

    1) 1 person to help look after Ethan 10 year old son, getting him ready for school 7:45 am and after school. Must be active to do sports and outdoor activities. 7:45am till 9:45am. Also morning duties, feed chickens, water vegies garden, stock up firewood.
    Afternoon from 3:10pm till 6pm arranging and doing outdoor activities after school. Someone with summer camp experience would be excellent, but anyone who loves children and organising/doing outdoor activities.

    2) help with other living chores like; cleaning, preparing meals, making a shopping list, shopping, weeding and taking care of the vegie garden and gardens.

    3) Personal training, yoga and Pilates (can earn some pocket money outside normal help hours or as part of the help). Looking for anyone who is a keen fitness person who can set up personal training regime and act a personal ttrainer (no experience of being a personal trainer required, but must be keen fitness person with experience of some of the following and organised to set up sessions. I am interested in learning pilates and yoga and would like a cross section of training exercise. I am looking at doing 3/4 1hr sessions per week.

    4) 1 or 2 people to help with farm maintence work who could help with clearing lantana, saplings, fencing, road works, mowing and sharing the cooking and cleaning.

    Everyone must be able to prepare/cook meals.

    We need people who are fit, outgoing willing to dive in to my way of life of living, working and doing social activities together on a daily basis; organising and planning our days. You must be energetic, fun, self motivated, keen to learn, good listeners and keen to get involved, people who like to be getting on with things and not sit around waiting. All helpers must be must be clean and tidy and happy to prepare meals (light lunches, normally left overs and salads and cooked meals in the evening).

    Come and make our property your home, with your own accommodation, see the same faces for a few weeks, make friends, have fun, relax and help us for a while. Be part of our weekly routine, help us and learn about the log cabin build (on hold due to personal circumstances) and life style trying to be self sufficient, go swimming and walks, play games with Ethan (our son), playing cards and have discussions with drinks on occasions.

    The property is really suited for, and I would prefer, sporty people who like to run, cycle, training, pilates, yoga etc. We have mountain bikes, exercisr bike, matts, weights that you can use. I am partcally interest to learn pilates, yoga and do any training. If you could help in these areas, setting up a regime three or four times a week it would be great.

    Having peoples company is very much appreciated, as otherwise I'm working mainly alone. Building a good team environment to work and live together is very important for me.

    Please read for more details and hope to hear from you all. Well some of you? Anybody? ha!ha!

    INTRO:
    We are lucky to have a beautiful 260 acre farm with many of the unique Australian landscapes, trees, nature and wildlife and would be greedy not to share it, so we hope for those of you that stay with us, that you enjoy our tranquil place and gain experiences and memories that stay with you for a long long time, and become long time friends.

    Myself and Ethan live in North Queensland (120klm from cairns) on a 260 acre farm surrounded by State Forest. We have horses, run around 20 head of cattle.

    A little about us:
    Last year Shelley (my partner and I decided to go our separate ways, and at times she may stay on the farm.

    I’m Olivier (Olly) I was born in Belgium English mother and Belgian Father and from the age of 10 grew up in the UK until I moved to Australia with my ex 15 years ago. Prior to moving to Australia I worked in the city of London. in Aviation Reinsurance. I have both traveled extensively and lived and worked for short periods of time in a number of different countries. Now I mainly works on the farm. Also In 2015 year I worked on a government / Private forestry funded scheme "Caring for your Country" (improving native forests on small farms - weed control and reset thinning).

    Farm objectives:
    1) To improve farm for self sufficiency and income:
    a. Cattle
    b. Forestry – main interest is carbon trading
    c. Self contained cottages (on hold)
    d. Orchard
    e. Vegetables

    Property description: We are nestled on three sides by state forest. Our farm is 105.5 hectares (260 acres) in the drier part of the Atherton Tableland. The elevation ranges from 880m to 955m above sea level. About 75 hectares is natural forest, and consist of mainly lemon scented, blue and rose gum, blood wood, northern grey box (gum top box), iron bark, river sheoak and swamp box. We have a permanent creek meandering on our property for approximately 1.3 klm with a total fall of 21 meters. We have platypus residing here. We also have a Dam on the property with small rowing boat.

    We are 100% alternate power, water self sufficient which gravity feeds many areas of the farm via 3klm pipe line system, rain water collection for drinking water, wood fire, gas and solar water heating. Continuously working on passive heating improvements. I have chickens, vegetable garden, banana plants and orchard with a variety of fruit trees. I am not sure how many people could say they live with a carbon positive footprint, but I would imagine we are close to it.

    Wildlife on our property:- Our property is surrounded by natural woodland (three sides of state forest approximately 2.6klm and 1klm boundary with an uninhabited and uncleared property) and the nearest house being 3klm as the crow flies, nature is abundant. To list a few: Grey kangaroos, wallabies, bettongs (night time- small kangaroo like), iguanas who steal our chicken’s eggs!, many lizards, possums, platypus, bats, owls, king fishers, kookaburras and lots of other birds.

    The environment I like to live and work in: Building a good environment to live and work together is very important for me.

    Before I came to Australia I loved being involved in groups and created groups to have the environment I thrived on. Within these groups I always appreciated those that took part in the organising and create the environment.

    For example:
    I like to have a full on week doing and organising things for the week with people. During the week days working: cleaning the accommodation, workshop, preparing meals, lunch down the creek, keeping a shopping list. Evenings: bom fires at night, star watching, , activities such as football, table tennis, badminton, volleyball, playing cards or board games, etc and planning the weekend.

    E.g. You suggest where to have lunch and we’ll do it down the creek, by the dam, on the hill). Want to have bonfire tonight or another night that we arrange it together, and so on. Want to sleep a tent or shack on Saturday then we’ll do it. Participate in organising activities and it will be so much fun.

    At the weekend, going out doing touristy things (taking and preparing what we need for the day lunch, shopping list bags, etc.) , swimming, shopping, pub, outdoor movies, barbecue and large fire, having drinks, walks, etc.. and so on. Basically, if you are outgoing and enthusiastic to join in the creation of your time here we can have great a fun time feeling rewarded on what we achieve together.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    ON HOLD: I am looking for people to help in our every day life as describe. My priority and focus is the log cabin construction whilst managing everyday life cleaning, cooking, managing the gardens, orchard (for self consumption), the cattle and farm infrastructure.

    The construction materials will mainly be sourced from the farm (stone and timber).

    You must be prepared to cook and clean. If you speak French or Spanish I'd like my son to learn both languages. He knows a bit of French, but needs people to talk to him in their language when playing.

    Priority six months:
    Farming
    • mowing, fencing: Fixing and/or replacing old fences and also new fences - new timber strainer posts, wire, star pickets and gates (steel & wire), repair roads, repairs and painting to house and buildings.


    General day to day:
    • Manage orchard (e.g. mulching, watering, fix sprinklers, pruning)
    • Mowing (from start of wet season)
    • Cattle work, feeding two weekly in dry season (now till wet season), branding, etc.
    • Vehicle maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained accommodation. A very nice 6m x 6m lounge diner kitchen, separate shower and toilet.
    Sleeping accommodation:
    1 separate bedroom (for two people) and a partitioned bedroom ( for single person) within the 6m x 6m studio type accommodation.

    Please see photos of living area. Sorry to date no photos of sleeping arrangements (to be uploaded soon).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are semi rural (Australian standard) 15 minutes to the nearest town. There is a bus service twice per day to Cairns from Atherton.

    The area: We are located on the Atherton Tableland inland from Cairns. Cairns centre is about 1 3/4hr drive from our property. The Tableland has way too much for me to list here, but here is a flavour; Herberton historical village, Herberton mining museum, small galleries, Rainforest trails, bushwalks, Lake Eacham (great for swimming), Lake Barrine, water activities on Lake Tinaroo, The crater, Atherton (china town), Mareeba coffee works, Ravenshoe (Millstream waterfall, Sunday steam train) Milla Milla waterfall circuit, Malanda (pub), Yungaburra (markets and pub), Markets on every weekend at a different location. It’s also beautiful just driving around with some breath taking views.
    Atherton (30 min drive) has two supermarkets where we shop for our groceries, small modern library with internet, small hospital, pubs and cafes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How Australians live both in the outback and within the towns and cities. Issues in regards to politics, laws and it's people. Also, from all my experiences of travelling, living in different countries, language learning. My experiences with trying to live sustainably, benefits and issues.

    Hopefully, I can help volunteers with my positivity, strength, friendly motivation and help them with their thoughts on life and their future.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours

My Photo Album

Accommodation - self contained








Host ref number: 259512192835