Come and help on my property in the rural village of Mt Mee, Moreton Bay Hinterland

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Iain McKee, a self-employed roustabout, carpenter, handyman, huckelberry... or whatever you'd like to call it on a 1/2 acre property in the rural village of Mt Mee, which is located in the Moreton Bay Hinterland area (just a bit south of the Sunshine Coast). It's one hour's drive away from Brisbane Airport and about 17 km from Woodford (home of the famous annual Woodford Folk Festival).
    I am father of four lovely kids aged 11, 10, 9, 7 but mostly they are not around because they are living with their Mom.
    My passion is long-distance running, but I 'm also interested in other outdoor activities such as bushwalking, hiking and swimming in National Parks, Tai Chi, Yoga,... and regular trips to the beach to have a dip in the ocean.
    I'd be happy to host up to 4 helpers at a time who will stay for at least one week.
    I'm as old as I look and as young as I feel! ;)happy life

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for kind-hearted and cheerful people who don't have a problem with getting their hands dirty (but definitely no heavy lifting etc. ). They can either help me on site or, if they prefer domestic work, do the household and cook and clean... Working hours are negotiable, as long everyone is happy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The helpers would have the choice between staying in my rainforest cabin in the garden, a selfbuilt cottage with one single-sized bed and one queen-sized bed. There is power and water, but they'd have to use the bathroom in the lower storey of the main house.
    Next to the bathroom in the lower storey, there are two rooms with mattresses and a kitchen with a wood stove for chilly days in winter - the other opportunity to stay.
    Pillows, blankets and bedsheets, a washing machine and a tumble dryer are provided.
    The upstairs kitchen with fridge, freezer and oven is for everyone, for we enjoy communal cooking and eating.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm not vegetarian, but vegetarians and vegans are respectfully welcome. Our plentiful garden supplies fresh fruit and vegies on a year-round basis - there's always something fresh and organic to eat.
    I myself love beer, so I don't mind people drinking alcohol, but drunkenness will not be tolerated. Definitely no smoking, please.
    Because of my kids I'd feel most comfortable with either couples or females staying.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4






Host ref number: 248939254923