Mother's helper needed on the beautiful Jurassic Coast, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 236 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte Workaway

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.10.2018

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    150

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
S'inscrire
  2018 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a home educating family living in the lovely seaside town of Weymouth, close to the town centre and beach. The children are aged 10 years, 5 years, 3 years and a baby born late 2017 .

    We prioritise hosting other families, even if you also have younger children/babies - it's a chance to live communally and the children love having live-in friends!

    The 'work' is relaxed and flexible - as you will be living in our busy household, there is always something to do at all times of the day, but I prefer to see it as a communal-living experience rather than a host/volunteer relationship. I will let you know if I need help for something specific, otherwise you are free to take days out whenever you want.

    I am trying to pursue a minimalist and zero-waste lifestyle, slowly getting back to basics with many things. We avoid harsh chemicals in our home (please do not bring any sprays containing artificial perfumes as it affects my asthma) and clean with natural products only. I'm interested in naturopathy and am often experimenting with our diet - I try to avoid dairy, we eat very limited meat, a portion of our food is organic, and I usually cook from scratch using wholefoods - but I'm also quite relaxed about these things and enjoy trying food cooked by our guests.

    My eldest son enjoys gaming, technology, books, maths, sketching, cooking/baking, playing board games, watching films, and Pokémon.

    My 5 year old girl loves dancing, singing, playing hide-and-seek, doing yoga/gymnastics, fashion, making things and playing dress-up. She has an electric piano that she'd like to learn to play.

    My 3 year old girl loves copying her sister, playing with Duplo/Lego, and Peppa Pig.

    My baby boy is a sweet little challenge as he doesn't like being in the baby carrier, but he loves cuddles - it may be that you can help me just by holding him for a few minutes each day!

    As a family we love travelling and try to get away ourselves a few times per year. Yet we also live in a beautiful part of the UK where there is plenty to explore, and we enjoy rediscovering our favourite places with our guests.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Cuisine / courses
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les langues
    Autres
    Aide avec l'ordinateur / Internet
    Enseignement

  • Aide

    Aide

    Helping in the day to day running of our household:

    *️️️️️️️️ Facilitating and supervising play and activities for the children;

    *️️️️️️️️ Doing the housework - please just use your initiative if you see something that needs doing;

    *️️ Sharing cooking where necessary (I enjoy cooking but my 10 year old loves learning to make new dishes from our Workaway guests);

    *️️️️️️️️ General childcare duties allowing me to focus on my own work (I'm self-employed and mainly work from home online);

    *️️️️ Occasional odd jobs that are not my forte - e.g. DIY jobs, sewing. I'll only expect help with this if it's something you're comfortable/skilled with;

    *️️️️ Sharing your culture and language to facilitate our worldschooling journey (my 5 year old is particularly keen to learn Spanish as well as her father's native language of Tamazight Berber);

    *️️️️ Accompanying us on trips outside the home - sometimes taking the children to their activities yourself if we are both happy with this arrangement.

    In return, I'm very happy to do what I can to facilitate your enjoyment and exploration of the beautiful area we live in during your stay with us.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a home educating family who travel as much as possible - we have many interests and experiences we can share. We talk about Morocco a lot as my childrens' father is Moroccan and we have been there 14 times!

    We are happy to help guests explore our local area, and families are welcome to join us on our home education meet-ups and other informal social activities.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Arabic (Moroccan dialect)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Ground floor flat. We are moving in May 2018 and I will update this when I can give more details about sleeping arrangements, etc.

  • Autres choses...

    Autres choses...

    We live in the popular seaside town of Weymouth where there are plenty of tourist sites within easy reach:
    Jurassic Coast (UNESCO World Heritage Site)
    5 minute walk to the main beach
    30 minute walk to the Sealife centre
    5 minute walk into town centre
    5 minute walk to the harbour
    20 minute walk to the train station
    Easy access to Portland and Dorchester
    Easy access to South West Coast Path
    Within walking distance of 2 nature reserves

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Flexible, max 25 hours

My Photo Album

Lennon Wall, Prague
Beautiful Dorset
Beautiful Dorset
Welcoming Baby
Home Ed project
Weymouth









Host ref number: 244869249215