French & the California coast!! (Last minute travelers welcome!)

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    04/07/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1212

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    65.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️Available to host right now (Feb - March 15th)! We had a cancellation and want someone to come ASAP*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️
    We are Savannah and Jhordn from California USA! We have traveled all over and are going to Africa in 2018. We love to travel, love adventure, being bold, and love trying new things. We have 3 cats, no kids. We believe life should be experienced through traveling, learning, and laughing with friends. We are fun, educated, adventurous and open-minded people who are always willing to learn.

    Things we love:
    --Wine (especially red) and wine tasting
    --traveling (duh) and exploring new places
    -- hiking and nature walks, and mountain biking
    --staying up late and sleeping in
    --eating delicious food, all different kinds (Mexican, Indian, French, Italian, Ethiopian, Chinese, etc)
    --drinking coffee while reading a book
    --exercising at the gym
    --live music and festivals
    --hosting parties at our house! Jhordn is a fantastic cocktail maker/bartender


    We are looking for someone to move in with us for a few months, in Monterey California, to help us become fluent in French. We're looking for someone who is happy, open-minded, flexible, and overall fun and personable. We want help with French practice, animal care (cats), french cooking lessons, and help with my travel blog! Maybe just one or two of those things, haha. You don't have be an experienced teacher--just fluent in French. We'll also help you practice your English! One of Savannah's skills is massage therapy and can teach you as well!

    Female traveler(s) only, please.

    We will show you some adventures in California such as world class wine tasting in a beautiful coastal town with delicious seafood. Monterey is known for their fantastic sea animals (sea lions and sharks) at the famous aquarium , Fishermans Warf, Cannery Row, sailing, scuba diving, multiple beaches, The Big Sur, surfing, Pebble Beach golfing, whale watching, and wine tasting. Monterey is a tourist destination and one of the most beautiful places in the US with a fun personality, farmers markets, and gorgeous ocean views. We love it here and we'd love to host a fun-lover!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a female, native French speaker to teach us French. We are at an elementary level in French so please be patient with our learning! :-) We think it will be helpful having someone in-house to practice with every day as a tutor. You don't need to have teaching experience. Just correct our grammar and encourage us to speak in French. Talk with us during breakfast and dinner, watch French movies, and listen to French music while we drink French wine :-) We're looking for someone who can stay for a month or longer. From now to August 2018.
    *️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️ We had a cancellation and want someone to come now, in February!*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️

    There are no set hours. There will be approximately 3-4 hours of French practice a day--mostly talking at breakfast and the evenings at dinner. If you work remotely, you can work during the day while we are at work...or take pretty photographs of the beach nearby. :-) We often go on weekend trips and you're welcome to come along! Public transportation is available and we have bikes you can use as well. I recommend having a drivers license here! Monterey is about 2 hours from San Francisco, 6 hours from Los Angeles, and 8 hours from Las Vegas.

    Airports to fly into:
    Monterey (MRY) closest airport
    San Jose California (SJC) 1 hour away
    Oakland (OAK) 2.5 hours away
    San Francisco (SFO) 2.5 hours away
    You can catch a bus to Monterey from these airports or we may be able to come get you depending on our schedules.

    We have 3 indoor cats so you must be an animal lover! They will demand your snuggles and pets during the day :-) Cooking skills would be a bonus so we could learn to cook new French recipes and experience new food. We usually eat pretty healthy with a lot of protein and no sugar (haha, yea right!!) We can host you if you are vegetarian or vegan. Helping out around the house will be appreciated-- very light housework such as dishes and recycling. We have a small herb garden if you have a green thumb. :-) Also, I'm starting a travel blog/website/thing and need help!

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    California is a large state in the United States and has a mix of cultures. We live in a coastal town that is a tourist destination. There are people from cultures all over the world here. There are international festivals and farmers markets all the time. Everyday we encounter people speaking all different languages and from all different places.
    I have been a workawayer myself, in Italy, so I am familiar with the process. I had a great experience living with an Italian family for 2 months and am still in regular contact with them. I'm looking forward to now hosting a workawayer and having a friendly relationship.
    Here in Monterey, there are lots of wine vineyards, hiking, sailing, and so much more! The weather is about 70 F degrees year round here. You'll meet people from all over the world and get to stay in one of the most beautiful places in the USA. You'll have opportunity to practice your English skills, learn massage therapy, take some great photographs, learn American cooking, and make friends from all over the world.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room in our home with a Queen sized bed and space for your belongings. There is lots of closet and drawer space. There is a full bathroom (shower, toilet, sink) for you to share when we have our occasional guests.
    Your room has a sliding door that opens to our AMAZING courtyard with a water fountain and patio lights. It's beautiful! We live in a forested neighborhood. It is quiet but within 10 minutes from downtown and 2 miles from the beach.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no set schedule. There will be approximately 3-4 hours of French practice a day (mostly at breakfast and the evenings at dinner). You can explore the area during on days off. We often go on weekend trips and you're welcome to come along! Public transportation is available and we have bikes you can use as well. Monterey is about 2 hours from San Francisco, 6 hours from Los Angeles, and 8 hours from Las Vegas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Our front courtyard! We spend a lot of time out here. Your bedroom door opens to this beautiful courtyard.
Big Sur, California...30 miles from our house
Come stay with us in beautiful Monterey California
Belize
Alberta Canada
Must love cats! :-)
Italy
Tikal Guatemala
Denali Alaska USA
Dominican Republic

Host ref number: 231242692226