Looking for a couple to help with the running of a small holding in the Pembrokeshire National Park, Wales.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    28/10/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for a couple with practical skills to help with the running of an 11 acre small holding in the Pembrokeshire National Park, Wales.

    We are a family with two young children and two cats. My husband works as a tree surgeon and has constructed a number of traditional timber frame buildings using timber from local jobs. I am setting up my pottery studio including building a wood fired kiln. We grow our own fruit and vegetables and keep bees. We have recently planted an orchard which we would like to expand. For next summer, we would like to establish a small campsite in our woodland and renovate an old railway carriage for holiday lets.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers with practical skills and experience in building, wood-working and gardening.
    The tasks we would like some help with can vary from general day-to-day maintenance to help with one of our projects. This could be building raised beds in the vegetable patch, woodland management (experience with using a chain saw would be good but not essential), fire wood processing, fencing, tree planting, weeding, timber cladding, harvesting vegetables, fruit and herbs, possible help with changeovers during summer months.
    We accept volunteers for shorter term stays but if they like the area, enjoy the work and we all get on they could extend their stay and the arrangement could be tailored to suit everyone's needs.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will have plenty of time to explore the local area. We are right on the Preseli Mountains rich in history and natural beauty. The Pembrokeshire Coast is 10 minutes drive away with a choice of spectacular beaches. There is a very strong local farming community with Welsh language widely spoken. We will be happy to share our experiences and knowledge in running a small holding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Czech, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer accommodation in a beautiful converted timber frame barn. The barn is very spacious and self contained with fully equipped kitchen, toilet and shower. The layout is open plan heated by a central log burner. There is a double bed on the ground level and two single beds in the loft. We have plenty of wood for the heating but volunteers will have to process it themselves.
    We will share a meal together per stay and provide you with funds to purchase your own food.
    Volunteers will need their own transport to get around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are no shops in our village. The nearest town is 10 minutes drive away with pubs, cafes, grocery store, post office, pharmacy and doctor's surgery.
    Due to the very rural location and absence of any public transport your own transport is essential.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 217397569594