Come and help at our place and experience different cultural flavors in Chicago, USA

updated
Country

United States

Favourited 193 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    632

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️Please put the dates in the Subject Line of your email. For example, "June 1 - July 4, flexible." *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️

    Right now, I'm looking for a workawayer for NOVEMBER.
    Everybody else is asking about July and August, which is already booked.

    Hi, My name is Mary. I have a B&B in Chicago. Now, I travel a lot. The house is in a quiet and very safe neighborhood on the Northwest side of Chicago. It is very close to the CTA train, airport and the highway. There are parks and stores in walking distance. It's right next to the Kennedy Expressway and a 10 minute walk to the Blue Line train station. There's a flower garden and 4 guest rooms. Soon, your bed will be in the 4th guest room! :-) We have guests that come from all around the world, including Europe, Asia, Africa, South America, and North America. Many are medical students.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First of all, travellers will be meeting guests from every continent. As I type this, I have a doctor from Dubai and a couple from Brazil and a young woman from Germany on the 2nd floor. Also, Travellers can experience the beautiful museums, parks, and uniques architecture for which the city of Chicago is famous. There are unique areas in the city that have different cultural flavors, like Chinatown and Greek town and Little Italy, etc. There are some sculpture parks and a unique lakeshore that is ALL public land with a walking/bicycle trail. During the warmer months, there are many free concerts, outdoor symphony and theater performances. When I am home, travellers can meet my friends and explore the Chicago Botanic Gardens and other activities.

  • Help

    Help

    Travellers will be working usually 9:00 - 13:00. It could be earlier if guests leave early. Travellers will be taking the old sheets off the beds and putting new sheets on every time a guest checks out. then, cleaning the bathroom; watering the plants; dusting and vacuuming the room. If there are no guests checking out that day, then workawayers can spend the day wherever they want. Maybe go into downtown. There is also a small amount of gardening in the flower garden. There are small projects of painting of the guest room closet, the doors, the backyard stairs, etc. Those closets are small.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. A little spanish. Very little French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The upstairs bedrooms will be available for sleeping. There are guest rooms throughout the house and a daybed that is always available in the front room. during the switch over from the last Workaway volunteer who will be training you, besides me.
    There is a good chance you will be sharing a room with another Workaway volunteer and guests as it is a Shared Room. We have privacy screens, too.
    You will be provided pay of $8.25 per hour. *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️HOWEVER,*️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️ funds will be credited towards room and board (examples, guests pay $29 a day for that bed; travel; food; etc. provided.) All the beds are foam.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transportation throughout the city of Chicago and it is very easy. You can take the train from the airport to my B&B and to every part of the city. It's $5. And a week pass is $28; a month pass is $105. The pass will take you everywhere in the city.
    Once you are shown how to take care of the B & B and the guests, you will be independent. I will provide you with Google calendar and text you about the next guest arriving. I use WhatsApp and Skype.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Typically 3-4 hours per day. Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 197937577323