Off grid life, in New South Wales, Australia

updated
Country

Australia

Favourited 1087 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1295

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an International Artist and Performer (Ive included a few pics). My art includes special effects construction and my performance's consists of Comedy, Circus, Stunts. I've been performing from the age of 12 and as i got older i learned that a lifestyle off the grid really suited me. Although i have always been performing for a living, I began performing internationally with my street show over 15 years ago. Its really helped me live the life I've always dreamed off. I can travel the world where i want and when i want. With my earnings i have been creatively restoring two massive boats. Its my biggest ever arts project to date. This is a "non commercial" project, which is why i use the Workaway programme as a way to participate in cultural, non monetary exchange.

    When i am in Sydney and have time to work on the boats, i welcome travellers from around the globe to visit. They are very stable and spacious and not like any other vessel you will have ever seen. Im transforming them into creative space's for myself and others to enjoy, whilst restoring and taking care of these 100 year old vessels that would otherwise deteriorate and be left to ruin.

    Located, north of Sydney by train or car, in one of the most beautiful places on the river, close to islands, beaches, cliffs etc. I am looking for people who can help in various ways, who are hard working, pro-active and team players. Some of the duties range from general assistance to painting, building, cleaning etc, in addition there are also domestic chores..

    Although there is a lot to do, i really try to create a balance between working and playing.. I want you to leave making new friends, learning new skills and being part of something that you will remember as a very special time of your life...

    The sun is out, the fish are biting, we saw dolphins recently here too, so don't think about it, if you're in any way excited about life off the grid, away from the stench of big city life, If you're prepared to work hard, be part of a team then come here, get involved, eat healthy, watch the sun rise, sit around the fire at night, meet interesting people, make friends, help restore and save these precious boats and be apart of a team.

    See you soon!!

    Sam

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Building, painting, cleaning, washing of boats, Boat repairs, gardening, general maintenance, cooking, shopping, running errons..

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about life off the grid

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are 5 double beds, plus there is one indoor hammock too.. The kitchen is awesome and designed for those who enjoy cooking in a creative, functional space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area is one of the most beautiful places in New South Wales, and on the best location of the river. If you're an outdoors lover and want to experience being "off the grid" then this place is for you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week































Host ref number: 196723681289