Dog and horse friendly vegetarian in Newtowncunningham, Ireland seeking helper April 9th onwards

updated
Country

Ireland

Favourited 634 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    56  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I would like the following; horsey help (easy in summer they are out in fields hard in winter when In stables),elderly dog help (he may want to sleep with you if I am on holidays he is so cute) help cleaning (I am terrible at this and if you are too that’s fine) help with anything you want to help with it’s great to share our gifts. I am hoping to find a responsible mature person to watch my dog horses and home while I am at work (4days/week) or when I go on holidays (regular). Someone who is flexible, can stay on their own (may be another workawayer sometimes I let 2 come) doesn’t count their hours as work but as part of their experience here. Riding is possible but lots of experience necessary as I have mostly nappy mares. I would like to learn natural horsemanship if you have experience with this please come and help me. I would consider someone without horse experience if they had something really cool to offer instead. Like a language practice, guitar or voice lessons, painter/decorator, I'm open to suggestions.
    I am an American living the beautiful country life in Donegal. I settled here in 1996 so I am a bit Irish too!
    I live with my small dog Doc, a Jack Russell, 5 horses and 1 pony, in the countryside 2 miles from the town of Newtowncunningham, County Donegal. I am a 2 mile walk from the nearest Tiny town so it’s pretty remote. You can get buses there though to nearly anywhere. I offer vegetarian food only, no meat chicken or fish in my home please. Most say I'm a good cook anyways. If you need to satisfy your carnivorous habit you will need to eat out and pay for it yourself. I just don't like my kitchen smelling like dead animals. If you are ok with that you will most likely love it in my home. You will have your own room with a double bed. If you don't have a car I will take you to buses or try to get you to places sometimes myself.
    I also like help with the computer, cleaning, painting, gardening, whatever you would like to help me with is fine. I am a chiropractor for people and animals so maybe you will learn from me something too.
    County Donegal is lovely and scenic with beautiful beaches. Donegal is a beautiful county to explore, Glenveigh Castle and The Giant's Causeway, Bushmills, and loads of beaches are within an hour bus ride from my home in Newtowncunningham. Derry is only a short drive and is a nice city to visit too. Belfast is a train ride from Derry, very scenic. I like to show Donegal to visitors and will do all in my power to ensure you have a nice time.
    If you would like to help me drop me a line thanks.

    I have a new 38 x 20 meter sand arena I would like someone good with horses to help me enjoy. I am over 50 and just walk and trot mainly myself, the odd canter. I let experienced young people canter, jump, etc. I have 1 quiet pony, Bella. 1 retired TB 29 years old,1 ex showjumper, Cruising Carol, 1 ex endurance mare, Nike 1 draft, Faith and 1 half draft KitKat recently backed. I don't consider riding part of your work it is a bonus if you are able and please have your own insurance just in case. I am most grateful that I have my own horses and can share them with people that love horses.

    Thanks Victoria

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have 22 years working as a chiropractor and even more with horses.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with animals, computer, cleaning, whatever...you can choose what you want to help out with, I am open to suggestions. I've gotten so much in return from workaways in the past I feel very lucky and open to suggestions. Horses can be dangerous, insurance is recommended. Im not a slave driver, I don't just do workaway to get free work. I love interacting with people from other countries and learning from them. I have hosted over 50 people from all over the world and love hearing their stories.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom with 1 double bed. Nothing too fancy, but the country setting is beautiful. Vegetarian only food provided. Relaxed home with 1 dog, evening fires and plenty of fun! Cold in the winter so dress warmly. This is Ireland raingear essential.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Derry the walled city 15 minutes away. Beach 20 minutes. Glenveigh Castle and National Park 1 hour away. Giants Causeway 1 1/2 hour away. Doagh Island an hour away. Train from Derry to Belfast a nice overnight trip.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days per week.





































Host ref number: 17858494754d