Looking for assistance with maintenance of our 10 acre property in British Columbia, Canada

new host
Country

Canada

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple living on a small Hobby Farm in the "South Canoe" neighbourhood of Salmon Arm, BC. Active with regular golf, fishing & cycling ourselves - plus regular visits from our 3 grandchildren - our home is a great base from which to explore the "Shuswap" , the Okanagan, the Cariboo and the Rockies.
    Having launched our first “workawayer” to points east, we are keen to continue with various property projects which include continued landscaping of a wooded area we call our “National Forest”, as well as ongoing maintenance = mowing & irrigation & weed “collection”.
    We can put you in touch with Stefan - who spent the month of May with us. He also found numerous options for paid employment with assorted neighbours.

    At this point it appears we likely have July and August covered off... so an ASAP arrival is what we are now seeking.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in mountain biking & hiking paradise with some of the best trails in the Shuswap a km from our back yard, plus some of the most scenic road cycling routes in the province.

    Mt. Revelstoke is a great day trip
    Jasper and Banff 4 hours away, great fishing in the Cariboo (3 hours), wine country / Okanagan 1 hr away. We have a very active arts, music & theatre community including the Caravan Farm Theatre, Shuswap Theatre & Shuswap Arts Council

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for assistance with maintenance of our 10 acre hobby farm. Mowing, fence repair, bush control, irrigation/watering plants, gardening. There now also is a barn/shelter to build - which will be done by a professional builder - but an extra pair of hands is always useful.

    We do have a single retired horse on the property so comfort with equines is an asset....plus we have 3 commercial stables within a kilometre of us - so horses tend to be everywhere! Chore list would tend to be weekly - rather than daily so lots of available time off to explore the area, or to perhaps pick up some wage labor within our rural neighbourhood.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large "lodge style" home with 2 large upstairs bedrooms separated by an office/sitting area. Guest bathroom (2 sinks, tub shower, toilet) located on main level. Could easily and comfortably accommodate a travelling couple. Open to most any food arrangement - I enjoy cooking and food prep.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transportation is not the area's long suit, but could access bicycles by rent or borrowing - depending on your needs and cycling style. We are an easy 10 minute cycle to town centre.....but need uphill legs for getting home. Having a vehicle would be an asset for exploring surrounding areas - mountains, forests, grasslands, lakes & desert !!
    Stefan taught us about which may be a useful tool for any traveller.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 - 3 days / week (max 25 hours)


Host ref number: 177269271635