Help on our homestead in Santa Barbara County’s beautiful wine country, Santa Ynez, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 331 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️
    We are looking for help for a specific time frame and situation.
    Beginning of March until about the 28th of March and can be longer if you prefer. We will be gone from approx the 12th-26th as I need to have surgery. My mom will need help on the farm with the animals and the basic farm chores. My mom loves people and sharing life stories. She is also good at helping you learn English if that is one of your goals. We need someone that is comfortable with animals, especially horses and that is reliable. Thanks!
    *️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️*️️

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Spring is around the corner and it is the start of clean up on the farm inside and out. We are looking for people that actually enjoy these types of projects.
    Projects:
    Inside our personal home- Spring cleaning-dusting, organizing, touch up painting, windows etc room by room we go getting everything nice and fresh and sparkly again. Sometimes our home gets neglected inside when we are outside all day doing projects..

    Outside-lots of weeding. Even with the little amount of Rain we get the weeds pop up everywhere and start taking over. We also need to get the garden ready, cleaned up weeded and new compost added for planting.

    A couple construction projects. Experience not necessary but helpful. Lifting and holding stuff, digging, painting, hammering and nailing.

    Plus there are always the animals that need tending to Morning and night and we also do a spring cleaning on all their pens/coops etc.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    Our homestead is 3.5 acres located in Santa Barbara County's beautiful wine country. We are in the small town of Santa Ynez which is approx. 30 miles from Santa Barbara. We have owned our property for three years. We would love to be self-sufficient one day. We have 30some chickens, 3 goats 8 turkeys, 1 tortoise, 6 geese, 3 horses, 2 miniature horses, 2 cats and 4 dogs. We love our animals, they are our pets.

    The garden if pretty much done for the season now and there is just weeding and getting things cleaned up and of course the general weeding. Daily animal care in the morning and evening, stall cleaning, coop cleaning and basic farm up keep.

    Future Projects

    -Sod In some hard to grow areas

    -Make new wood pile

    -Horse shelter in pasture

    -Paint barn and stalls

    -Greenhouse (old windows needed)

    -cement slab

    -And many more projects...

    -Daily and or frequent chores

    -Feed and water animals

    -Turn horses out to pasture-fly sheets, fly spray etc

    -Clean animal pens

    -Fill gopher/squirrel holes

    -Collect eggs

    -Composting

    -Weeding

    -Cleaning our personal home

    We thought our lovely area with all the vineyards, hiking, biking and Santa Barbara 30 miles away it may be someplace of interest for someone to visit and help out. The nearby towns are Solvang and Los Olives. My husband speaks Spanish, Portuguese as well as English. We have a 24' RV (motorhome- caravan) that would be used for your accommodations. It has a queen bed, kitchenette, small bathroom, dinette area. You will be responsible for keeping it clean and draining the gray/black water (we will show you how to do it) We are on a farm so you will hear the animals in the mornings, this is farm life you can always use earplugs but if this seems like something that bothers you then farm life may not be for you and should look elsewhere.

    Summers can get hot here at times if it happens to be really hot when you are here we may have to start earlier in the morning to avoid the really hot times and shade chores then too. Also it can get hot in the rv in the day in the summer but more than likely it is not where you will be in the day...

    We prefer stays longer than a week but I am open to discussing lengths of stay. We are looking for someone who is excited to be here and enjoys working and getting their hands dirty, a self-starter and takes pride in their work. We want someone who is honest, caring and loves animals and is nonsmoker and drug free, Alcohol in moderation. Help is expected in our personal meal prep and clean up. There will be shared meals as well as meals on your own. When the garden is in production we utilize the stuff from the garden so you will be harvesting stuff for meals. We would love to also experience traditional meals from our volunteer’s. Our past volunteer let us experience some food we never heard of or even imagined it could taste good and it was delicious!

    This is real farm life, you are expected to help feed and put animals in morning and evenings. We have 4 dogs under 20 pounds that are in the house with us and go in and out. You must like dogs as they are part of our family, if you do not like them this is NOT the place for you.

    If you are a couple then make sure BOTH people want to be here and work hard and be on a FARM.

    Our WIFI is satellite and is very limited. If you prefer staring at your phone or computer over interacting with people then do not come as that is not what we are looking for and this is not the place for you.

    If at anytime we feel that it is not a good fit for us we will ask you to leave. We want this to be a fun experience for all and we have made life long friend through this program but due to a recent not so positive experience with someone who just wanted to drink and not work we want to make it clear that if you have a bad attitude or other problems you will be asked to leave we do not have the energy for that. We like a fun positive environment where we share stories and can laugh and joke around with each other.

    As far as food goes breakfast items are usually any of the following oatmeal, toast, eggs (depending on availability)tea/coffee. Lunch soups, salads or sandwichs and dinner is dependent on what is on hand. We will utilize what we have in the garden first.

    We also require our volunters to have their own insurance and sign a waiver releasing us from any liabilities. When you contact us please do not send a generic message that you are sending to everyone. Please make it personal and tell a little about yourself!

    We have met so many great people and made life long friends we hope to continue with those experiences. We love traveling and hearing stories of others adventures! We enjoy sharing and experiencing and learning about different cultures. Any questions let me know. I want this to be fun and enjoyable for all!

    Here are a few things we enjoy! Traveling, wine tasting, reading, DIY projects, beer making and wine making to name a few.

    Here are a few things that might interest some of you that I can teach you on your down time if you would like to learn. Artisan bread making, simple farmers cheese, beer making, kombucha, soap making, ice cream making, and bee keeping.
    Remember we are not a pristine full set up working farm we are a work in progress trying to become self-sustainable as possible and it is done as we have realized in small steps due to health, finances and energy! We would love to share the process down this path with others interested.

    We can take 1-2 people and length of time is flexible. We are not looking for someone local who is basically looking for a place to live…

    To get to our location you can take Amtrak to SAnta Barbara or other destinations depending on where you are coming from and they have a bus that connects to Solvang. Same for when you leave, a bus from Solvang takes you to SAnta Barbara or Santa Maria etc and you connect in to Amtrak. google bus/train info that comes to Solvang usually you will connect through Santa Barbara. Wanderu I believe has the schedule online. We can drop you off or pick you up in Solvang or there is a small bus stop near our lane. If you are taking Greyhound bus then you will go to SAnta Maria and then there is a bus Breeze 200 that goes from the SAnta Maria transit station to Solvang.

    When you write to us please do not send a cut and paste general response, read our listing, tell about yourself etc. make it personal. Sometimes when you write with your dates we have to contact other helpers that maybe coming at the same time so we need to double check with them. Please respond to us after we write back to you within 24 hours and let us know if you are coming or not so that way we can go on to the next person.

    Thank You!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have traveled a lot and love learning and sharing information about different places. In my listing about our farm I have an extensive list of things we enjoy and can teach if you are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, weeding, cleaning, cooking, animal care, general maintenance

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    RV motorhome has queen bed, shower kitchen etc. is 24ft long

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in beautiful wine country with lots of vineyards. We have great hiking and biking areas. Santa Barbara and the ocean are approximately 30 minutes away. Some guests have just enjoyed relaxing and reading in the hammock on their days off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5hours a day excluding lunch 5 days a week







Host ref number: 166599746279