Friendly, active & fun loving family looking for some help indoors & out doors.Co. Limerick, Ireland

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/06/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 30 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workawayers,

    We are a family of three living in a beautiful Co. Limerick, Ireland. That is, me, Grace & my two sons aged 17 years & 13 years. We have a 1.5 acre property set in rich agricultural countryside.

    I hosted Workaway volunteers in 2015 & it was a great experience.

    Our interests include: sport - all kinds, especially rugby & boxing in which the boys are involved; yoga; going to the sea, (only 2 hours away); food & wholefood cooking - I can cater for all diets; hill walking; computer games & programming; Scouting - I am a Scout leader in our local group; & people & life in general.

    I recently returned to full time nursing in a Hospice in Limerick. I work 3 to 4 long days each week. As I am at home less, we could do with some help with house work & general outdoor maintenance.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Over the summer, I am looking for help with cutting grass & hedges & weeding. I do not use any pesticides or chemicals, so there is a lot of hand weeding to do. I need my wood shed to be tidied up for the winter. I also need the windows cleaned & re-varnished. If the weather is bad & not suitable for outside work, I have indoor painting work to do. If willing, we would also love some language practice with a French or Spanish speaker.

    Indoors, I need help with general housework - vacuuming, dusting & ironing & cooking some days.

    I expect you work to work for 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. Arrangements can be flexible. i will provide your daily meals. On the days I am working, you may have to cook for yourself. You can launder your clothes - but no tumble drier, sorry.

    Ideally I would like someone for 3 weeks, from mid June.

    If you are not happy with your work or conditions & you wish to leave, I would appreciate if you could give me a few days notice. Similarly, if I feel that you are not suitable as a volunteer, I will give you notice to leave.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom & bathroom. Our home is a renovated farmhouse & is comfortable & spacious. There is free WiFi, but please bring your own device.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live within 30 minutes drive of the Galtee mountains & the beautiful Glen of Aherlow which is very popular for walking & climbing. We are also close to the Ballyhoura Mountains where there is mountain-bike trails. I would be happy to drive you if you wish. Within the general area there is also pony trekking centers, golf clubs, horse racing tracks & more. We are located approximately 30 minutes drive from Limerick City & 15 minutes drive from Tipperary town & there is a regular bus service. Limerick Junction train station is only 10 mins drive away, which is on the main Cork-Dublin rail line. Dublin is 1.5 hours by rail.

    The roads around our home are quiet & great for walking or cycling - we have bicycles that you can borrow. It is light up until 22:00 in summer, so it is nice to get out in the evening.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I hope you will enjoy sharing our home & family life & our beautiful area. You will have plenty time & space to relax. I am happy to help you plan any trips you want to do in Ireland.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Farmyard Opera! June 2015.
View from our front door. Winter sunset.
The Neighbours.
Host ref number: 155773755645

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)


Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts