Couples ONLY: Walk dogs and learn about dog whispering in Brighton, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 224 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    775

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    79.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    only suitable for FOR COUPLES (WHO CAN SHARE 1 BEDROOM WITH 1 BED).

    Applicants must be over 25yrs of age for insurance purposes.

    Hi there. This is a great opportunity for a dog loving couple, looking for a workaway place for 3-4 months. It is particularly suitable, if you are hoping to have a part time paid job on the side.
    (I'm sorry, I have no opportunities for singles.)

    I'm a canine behaviourist (dog whisperer) with my own business. I offer dog boarding for my clients and usually host 2-5 dogs at a time. The dog boarding happens at my husband's house, so you will be sharing the house with him and the dogs. I live just across the street and drop in daily. My request is that you help look after the dogs and both our houses, so that I can concentrate on consultations and classes. My business is booming at the moment, so I need help with all the little things that I don't get the time for... See below for the diverse list of tasks.

    I'm generally cheerful and friendly, some would say I'm colourful and a little eccentric. I like to create a chilled vibe in the house and can offer lots of flexibility. I'm also kind of busy -tend to jam pack my life with all my favorite stuff, so this opportunity will suit an independent couple wishing to have their own time and social life. If I'm around, I'm usually working. If I'm not working, then I'm usually not home, going out to dance classes, festivals, life style workshops or downhill mountain biking. If you are interested in conscious living, we will probably have a lot in common.

    In exchange for 2-3 hours' work per day (per person), I'm offering to pay the rent and all the utility bills (electricity & gas, water, wifi etc).
    If you are fantastic at cooking healthy food, then we may make an arrangement that you also cook for me and that I pay your food bill in exchange.

    There may also be an opportunity to do a little paid work for me, babysitting the puppies in my class, while the owners listen to me.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is the perfect opportunity to stay in the inner suburbs/ beachy part of Melbourne with heaps of spare time, flexibility and super cute dogs.

    If you are keen, then I'm more than happy to teach you about dog whispering and dog training. You'll have plenty of time for a part time job somewhere else or studies. The work hours are flexible.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for all sorts of help and appreciate your flexibility, but the main part is walking 2-7 dogs for 1 hour in the morning and in the afternoon. You'll be able to take them to a nearby off leash dog park.

    Also feeding, washing and brushing the dogs, house cleaning (the dog area daily, my house and the car weekly), laundry and some basic gardening.

    The dogs can be sorted in 1.5hour (starting at 8am) in the morning and 1 hour in the afternoon (between 2pm and 6pm). The rest of the tasks can be done in a more flexible time frame. Usually we will have less than 4 dogs and only one person is required to walk the dogs. During school holidays, we usually have more than 4 dogs and you'll need to both go together (or split the dogs in two walks).

    I may also request some help with video/ marketing work, depending on your abilities.

    This gig is perfect for you if you enjoy variety and can offer flexibility. Most of the tasks are daily and regular, but then there's also little projects on top. You will need to walk the dogs during the weekends and receive or hand them back to the owner, but the rest of the tasks can be done during the week. If you ever need a weekend completely off, then all you'll have to do is ask :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Danish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have a large and light room with big built in robes and a Queen size bed to share. You'll have a small bathroom to yourselves, but you are also welcome to use my husband's larger bathroom, when he is not home. The house has a big wild garden, that I'll be asking you to work in as well.

    The dog park is just around the corner.

    You'll be able to get to most places in inner Melbourne within 50-60 minutes on public transport, bus, tram or train, but a bicycle would probably be great for you. We are 5 minutes from the beach on a bike.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are working for me in December, it is important that you can commit to stay here and help look after the dogs between Christmas and New Year. There'll be a bunch of puppies wanting your attention and cuddles!! It is a very busy time for us, so it would be unfortunate if you took off in the middle of it.

    There's soooo much to do in Melbourne, its a fantastic place to live whether you are into sports, art or the outdoors.

    My ideal match is someone who enjoys a healthy diet and looks after their body. Please note that I cannot extend my offer to smokers -not even if you only smoke outside. I also do not tolerate any drugs or excessive drinking in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Usually 2-3 hours a day per person, 5 days per week -but note that may be on a Saturday or Sunday

I am lucky to be engaged with this handsome man. We prefer to live apart, so I live alone and he lives just around the corner.
The dogs are usually my puppy class graduates, so they are young and playful. Most poodle crosses.





Host ref number: 153682995575