Come and Share your skills as part of my project with local communities in Udaipur, India

Country

India

Favourited 220 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1249

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome,
    my name is Rama and I am from Udaipur in Rajasthan, India. :-)

    I run a project with the goal to spread happiness in local communities in my wonderful city, Udaipur. Everyone wants to be happy but unfortunately not everybody is. That's why I'm trying to find different ways to help and spread happiness across the towns and villages in India.

    Everytime I talk to the poor children, the homeless and elderly and those of ill health, I feel that they have so little in the way of possessions or wealth or status or perhaps even physical strength, and yet they have so much love to give. I started to spend more time with different local communities, I began to share with them, and they too, began to share with me.

    I work with a great variety of individuals and larger communities - with orphaned and homeless children, with rag-pickers, with tribal girls, women who suffer domestic abuse, children with physical and emotional difficulties, and with the elderly.

    I feel that elderly people have so much life experience and so much to give, but sadly once they become old, nobody wants to interact with them or give them attention. They are pushed aside and forgotten. But I believe these people deserve our love and compassion, and I would like to bring happiness to them, through creativity and positive engagement.

    In the early morning the rag pickers collect garbage from the streets. They work long hours and in poor conditions but they are not respected or acknowledged for their work. They live together, in communities, and I visit their homes, or community halls, and play games with the children.
    We talk and listen to each other, laugh together, we share our life experiences and we help one another.

    I believe this is a two way process. We have much to bring to these communities, just as they too have much to offer us in the way of learning and compassion. I think its important to create an atmosphere of positive energy, of laughter, of sharing and of happiness. Because creativity, support and love are so good for healing any sadness, pain or frustration we can experience in life. Some scientific research shows that the level of creativity in children is much lower than what it was before. There is a lot of reasons for that, but there is also solutions.

    Through this project, I want to provide some kind of simple service in the way that I want to share every kind of knowledge or skills I have. I also invite you to come and work alongside me, sharing (whatever) skills you have - whether you are an artist, a musician, a crafts person, a teacher, a film maker or even a web designer. Any creative skills, circus skills, food skills, teaching skills, story telling skills, farming skills, listening skills, or simply a good open heart!
    I am grateful and open to all types of ideas and contributions!

    I really look forward to hearing from you and finding news ways in which, together, we can create and share a little bit of happiness around the world! :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    There is many ways to help :

    - Organising workshops with music or art, story telling, theatre, games, dance. Any new ideas also welcome!
    - If you are interested you can get involved in some village farming with local people, to learn new skills and to share your own.
    - You can make a short film showing what the project is all about.
    - You can create a webpage, promoting our work.
    - You can help with funding and thinking of ideas to connect with other NGOs - as I would like to spread this project as far as we can - it doesn't have to be limited to India!

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you come here to work with us, you will come and have a genuine experience connecting with the real people of India. You will meet a wide range of people, from all types of backgrounds and communities.
    You will be able to fully engage with these people, and unlike a tourist who is merely passing through, you will live and work closely with local people. You will learn about our culture and traditions. You will hear our music, see our art, eat our wonderful cuisine! talk with us, laugh with us, play with us and really get to know us.

    Aside from engaging in the city-based projects, I would like to invite you out to the villages. To meet rural communities, to see how they live and work. there will be the opportunity to eat and drink tea with the villagers in their homes. They can show you their homes, their lands, and perhaps you can share something of your life too!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️As well as doing this project I offer tours of old Udaipur. I visit the hidden places of the city, away from the tourist trail. We visit temples, drink chai from local vendors, eat authentic Indian cuisine, visit markets and walk the long winding streets of the historic old town. Feel free to ask me any questions about this if it is something that interests you! *️️️️️️️

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Hindi

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have space for five volunteers at a time, male or female.
    Our house is 15 minutes from central Udaipur by car or bus. It is a non tourist area, so you will be living alongside local people.
    The house is shared with my parents and my two younger brothers (23 and 25) who are very kind and warm people. However sometimes they go to our village and we have the house to ourselves.
    I provide my volunteers with one kitchen, three bedrooms only for guests [up to three in each room], a basic shower, sink and toilet and a very nice rooftop terrass.
    In my tradition, cooking is a communal activity in which we all involve together. My mother and me will teach you tradtional rajasthani meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Ingredients are provided by me. In fact, nobody can leave this house before being a rajasthani cooking master :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - Transport to the centre is cheap, and you can travel by tuk tuk, by bus or by uber, we are fifteen minutes from the centre.
    - Within ten minutes you can walk from the house to the beautiful lake fateh sagar where you can enjoy the sunset, eat some good Indian food or drink a chai and watch the world go by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week
















Host ref number: 142797612643