Looking for a native Spanish speaker and an extra pair of hands around the house in Northern England!

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 360 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    231

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a young family with 3 small children aged 8, 7 and 4, living in a quiet neighbourhood in West Yorkshire, England. I am at university studying midwifery and my husband is doing his master in conservation and biodiversity. We live in the town of Halifax, West Yorkshire and only a short train ride away from us are 3 main cities, York, Leeds and Manchester. I am studying Spanish and would love to practice speaking it on a daily basis, however my husband and children do not speak Spanish so you will get plenty of English practice here also. We accept workawayers aged over 23 that are Spanish speaking natives and that love dogs, chickens and children! We prefer those wanting to stay a minimum of 4 weeks but longer is also great. If you are not sure about anything just send me a message and we can chat or Skype.

    *️️️️For people interested in staying in the summer months, we are looking for someone to stay with us for July and August. This is so we can travel for a few weeks in August and someone has had a chance to get to know the animals before we go. Thanks!*️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The town and the bus and train station are all within walking distance so you can go to many wonderful places like York which is a really beautiful city and Hebden Bridge which is a small village full of culture. The cities of Leeds, Manchester and Liverpool are also close enough to visit for a day. Our house is surrounded by some very beautiful countryside with many walks to be explored. I practice yoga most days and welcome the company, I also attend yoga classes if people want to join and our local town offers some beginners free yoga classes sometimes too.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome help with gardening (we grow our own vegetables when possible), dog walking, looking after the chickens, childcare and cleaning. Also looking after the house and animals if we go for a trip ourselves. I really want to be fluent in Spanish one day so I am eager to learn and help others learn English in return. It would also be fantastic if the children and my husband can begin to learn Spanish also.

    We love learning about new cultures and way of life and if you want to cook traditional meals that's great but if you don't want to cook for us that is no problem, as long as you are able to cook for yourself. We do try eat as a family whenever possible so often food will be prepared for you but sometimes with work and university we are not able.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room on the top floor for privacy and access to a computer if you need it and wireless internet. Please be aware the staircase is steep as its a converted loft. All food is included while we are here but it would be great if you can buy your own food If we go away on holiday, in return less will be expected of you. We make mostly vegan meals, occasionally vegetarian, though our children eat meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The closest airports to us are Manchester and Leeds Bradford. Manchester is easier usually as you can take the train from there to our local train station where taxis are available but I will always pick people up if I possibly can.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum of 20 hours a week over 5 days. Flexible!








Host ref number: 131117773682