Idyllic Cornwall, UK - outdoor help on our smallholding

updated
Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 81 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We share our beautiful small-holding in an idyllic location in north Cornwall with Charlie the cat and our little dog Buddy. We don't own them but have horses and a goat in our fields. We also look after homeless cats.

    We run 2 very popular converted barn holiday properties on site which keep us busy, especially on a Saturday which is our changeover day.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will have the opportunity to experience all that Cornwall has to offer; meet local people, sample Cornish food and drink and see some beautiful places.

    We like to be outdoors. We walk the dog every day regardless of the weather and when the weather is good we like walking on the beaches, body boarding, kayaking and evenings star gazing and toasting marshmallows.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like a mature (ideally 25 plus), enthusiastic, motivated individual who is happy to help with general building work/property maintenance, gardening/weeding, cutting splitting firewood/chopping wood, exterior painting and decorating. Some experience with weeding/vegetable growing/gardening and property maintenance would be preferred.

    Experience of using ladders, cordless strimmers, cordless hedge trimmers would be useful.

    The work can be dirty and heavy sometimes and will mostly be outdoors unless it is raining. If raining the work will more than likely be splitting wood/moving wood in a large barn.

    Current jobs that need doing:
    Clearing gutters out
    Weeding
    Removing moss
    Cutting hedges
    Cutting grass
    Pressure washing walls/patios
    Building raised vegetable beds
    Cleaning patio furniture

    Please bring clothes suitable for dirty work. We can provide safety goggles and gloves if needed.

    PLEASE NOTE: We are normally around working too. But you must be responsible enough to work unsupervised also.
    We expect you to work for the hours agreed, normally 5 hours/day for 5 days/week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a self contained studio next to our house. The accommodation is newly refurbished and has a TV/DVD, mini kitchen with kettle, toaster, microwave, sink, fridge and a bathroom with tiny bath and shower. The accommodation has heating and wifi and is very cosy. Bedding and towels provided if required. Washing machine available to use.

    We will provide you with plenty of food - breakfast (juice, cereals, eggs, bread jam), lunch (sandwiches/soup) and a hot dinner with us. Tea and coffee.
    We normally eat meat but are happy to have vegetarians stay.

    We are happy to have our evening meals together where we can talk and get to know you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in a tranquil rural setting with no neighbours in Perranwell which is 2 miles away from Perranporth with its amazing 3 mile stretch of sandy surfing beach. Perranporth has shops, bars, restaurants, library and surf shops. Our nearest amenities (shop, post office, pub, garden centre) are in Goonhavern approximately 25 minutes walk away.

    A bus from Goonhavern will take you in to the lovely little Cathedral city of Truro in one direction where there are lots of other bus or train connections. Or to Newquay with the famous Fistral beach and other beautiful destinations.

    Our property is a great base from which to explore Cornwall. If you enjoy walking we have some beautiful walks from our doorstep and the South West Coastal path can be accessed from Perranporth.

    We are happy to give lifts to bus/train stations where convenient.

    There are bicycles and body boards that can be borrowed.

    It would be useful for you if you had your own transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 128829646868