Volunteering for English teaching (Speking) - camp and farm - Explore and experience living with a Muslim family in Sawahlunto, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia

Country

Indonesia

updated  

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Before you start reading my profile, please have a look at my calendar and my schedule and information below:

    *️️️️️️️️️ The camp and outbound will be on August and September 2019, but if there is a condition, we'll go to PLAN B (will tell you via messaging). The camp is based on participants' request.

    About me
    .................................................
    My name's Deni Abdillah M, just call me Deni or Dani. Im 33 y/o and Im an English lecturer. Im an open-minded person, have sense of humour, fun, and communicative.
    My passion is about English, and I love to share a story / moment with everyone. I love football and futsal very much. Besides that, I love jogging, hiking, hanging out, trekking, camping, walking, surfing on the internet, swimming, reading, and watching movie.

    Workplace
    .................................................
    My workplace is in Bukittinggi. It is a High School of Foreign Language Haji Agus Salim - Bukittinggi or STBA Haji Agus Salim. We have 2 majors; English Literature (Bachelor degree) and Japanese (Diploma). While, My project; English Camp, is located in Sawahlunto "the Old Coal Mining City".

    Family & Living Place
    .................................................
    I have been married for 5 years and I have a daughter (4 y/o). My wife is a civil servant (Elementary school teacher). She is really kind and she is very good in cooking. My daughter is cute and adorable. She likes playing lego, cooking, writing, drawing, and acting out "the teacher & the student".

    We have been living in Sawahlunto for 5 years in a rent house. We have one bedroom and living room. I prefer to sleep in the living room, if we are visited by a guest especially a woman. A guest (woman) can sleep with my wife and my daughter.

    Ombilin Sawahlunto Heritage Coal Mining has been officially designated by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. "Kota Arang (City of Charcoal)" was officially designated as a UNESCO world heritage in the 43rd session of the World Heritage Committee Meeting in Baku, Azerbaijan, on Saturday, July 6, 2019.

    Furthermore, my parents live in Payakumbuh (just 2.5 hours from Sawahlunto). My dad is retired (He was a sport teacher), while my mom is a house wife. Now, my mom is planting corn, banana, casava, and other vegetables. The farmfield is about 10 minutes from my parents' house. In the house, we have one bedroom empty. It is special room for a guest.

    Culture
    .................................................
    We are very eager to learn English with the people from other countries. We are ready in exchanging cultures and languages. Our mother tongue is Minang and Bahasa (Indonesia) is our national language.

    Our philosophy in Minangkabau is "Adat Basandi Syarak, Syarak Basandi Kitabullah". It means that we live and act based on the Qur'an (Holy Book). Minangkabau is 100% Moslem (Islam). Our tradition is unique, that is Matrelinelism system. We follow our mother blood. Based on BBC Indonesia, Minangkabau is the biggest tribe with using Matrilinealism system in the world.

    Nature
    .................................................
    We have a beatifull nature in Sumatera Barat. There are Lakes, mountains, jungles, beaches, valley and canyon. I think you can start googling with the key word: Sumatera Barat, West Sumatera, Bukittinggi, Sawahlunto, Payakumbuh, Sianok Canyon, Jam Gadang, Harau Valley, Minangkabau.

    I would love to try hiking and climbing to the mountain; Mount Merapi in Bukittinggi - Sumatera Barat - Indonesia. Because I live and work in three different cities, so I know those cities very much.

    We are very welcome for both native and non-native speaker to join us.

    Please do not hesitate to contact and to ask me some questions about the program or everything you would like to know, then please mention the skills which you are really experienced with.

    Warm regard,


    Deni


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Types of helps are described below
    *️️️️ Additional information:
    Please come to the 5th International Carnaval. If you are interested in fashion or designer. You may contribute in our event. The event will be 6th to 8th September 2019.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What will we exchange with the volunteers:
    .................................................
    1. Sharing the experiences about culture, food, fun teaching techniques, camps, curricula, indoor and outdoor games, photo and videography.
    2. Cooking class (Traditional foods).
    3. Hunting for culinary.
    4. Communicating and living with local people. You will feel like a Rock-Stars when you meet them. Trust me!
    7. Learning and Practicing our languages (Minangkabaunese and Bahasa).
    8. Sports (playing futsal, jogging, hiking, trekking).
    9. Experiencing and living with Minangkabau family

    "You aren't a tourist, You aren't a visitor, You aren't a guest, BUT YOU ARE a part of my FAMILY". SO, I let the world come to me.

  • Help

    Help

    This is opportunity for both Native and Non-Native speakers.
    .........................................................................

    1. Teaching English (Team work)
    2. Organizing and Promoting the new English programs.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Involving in promoting directly (Team work).
    3. Farming and gardening at my mom's farmfield.

    If you have experiences and confidence with those opportunities (optional) above. Don't hesitate to contact me through this site.

    But if you are new, or you don't meet with the points above, and you would like to try experiencing and living with Minangkabau family, we are very welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Bahasa, Minangkabaunese, learning Spanish-Italian-French through Duo Linggo

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    "Make yourself home"
    1. Pillow + blanket + Mattress.
    2. Food and drink. You are allowed to cook your own meal. We eat rice 3 times a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can explore our beautiful nature (mountain, lakes, valley, canyon, etc) and city such as visiting our tourism objects and historical places. How? You can take, public car called Angkot, cart (Bendi), OJEK (it is one of our transportation with a bike and the driver / rider), and you can book it online called Go-Jek, or you prefer walking. I'll give you some tips about the area which you want to visit.
    If I have free time, I'll show you around.

    Your call!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️ If you would like to explore our nature, you need to pay the transportation (exp: gasoline).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My lil family (Lisna & My kid Yasmine) featuring Sophie at Puncak Cemara, Sawahlunto - West Sumatera - Indonesia
Sophie planted corn in my mom's farm field
Sophie's work
My Parents, Brother & Sophie
Playing futsal with my team @Bukittinggi, West Sumatera, Indonesia. Santi is a great player.
Fun activities with the teachers'
Fun activities with the teachers'
Fun activity with Students SMKN 4 Payakumbuh, West Sumatera, Indonesia
Santiago, Anne, and Jefri (my best friend). July 2018 "Pasa Harau Festival of Art. Location: Harau, West Sumatera, Indonesia



Host ref number: 116345334998