Help at a family community in the Robson Valley.

Favourited 33 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


Contact Register
  • Description


    We are an extended multigenerational family community in the beautiful robson valley. we have many organic gardens, including a large raspberry plantation. my son has a recycling veggie/diesel operation, and also we host the famous Robson Valley Music Festival in august. there is usually some sort of building project going on as well since there are 5 households on this land. we are also involved in reforestation. a lot of young people pass through due to the music and tree planting.

    We have a variety of cosy accomodations for helpers, including a dorm, a cabin with a fireplace and running water, and an assortment of camperized school buses. we are situated right on the banks of the fraser river, with over 4 km of river frontage. we are also into making wine and beer which the helpers are welcome to enjoy along with fantastic food prepared right from the garden. we are situated close to national and provincial parks, an wealth of rugged gorgeous nature to explore and enjoy.

    Its a lot of fun setting up the music festival, and as the date draws closer, more and more people gravitate to the land to prepare for it. meanwhile the gardens need to be harvested and the food processed for the winter.

    We would appreciate anyone who is interested in organic gardening and is interested in trying to attain selfsufficiency. i have 40 years of living lightly on the land experience. i would like to share my experience with someone who could commit to staying here for a good length of time in order to actually learn something, and not just be doing the mindless labour.

    the kind of person who would do well here would be self motivated, self amused, and not afraid of hard work when the need arises. i would expect help with meal preparation and cleanup. usually 4 - 6 hours a day is plenty to get things done. of course you would have freetime to explore the many recreational possibilities, hiking, biking, canoeing.

    The property is located on the upper fraser river, and has 4 km of river frontage. there's lots of wildlife as the property is located at the end of a road, surrounded by wilderness. you will almost for sure see black bears, deer, elk freuently, moose, cougars and linx less often.

    If this sounds intresting to you, send me a message and lets get ready for a great summer of 2013!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Help


    Life is about eating drinking and being merry!! My work is about making food, from the seed to the table. I enjoy every aspect of food and drink production, am constantly delighted by the superior quality of home grown everything. I would like to share my considerable experience in processing food for storage, making juices, jams, pickles,and sauces. I make great beer and wine, breads and pastries, and would teach you how to do the same if you are interested.

    there are also the mundane chores like cutting the lawn, chopping firewood, pruning and turning compost, and the endless weeding.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish

  • Accommodation


    the accomodation is mentioned above. all of it is comfortable and clean.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    i was not at home when i filled out this appliation and so couldnt access photos of the place. i will add more photos of the actual "farm" by the middle of february, 2013.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-6 hours a day... 5 or 6 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 112271668156