Gabrielle & Elaine

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ecuador

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/01/2017 - 09/02/2017


  • Description

    I am an organic farmer in south of British Columbia in Canada. I grow garlic and a large vegetable garden. I have travelled a bit in Mali in 2012. I went to Morocco in October 2015 and now I would like to explore South America. I also paint in my spare time. . I speak English, French and I am learning Spanish right now. I am travelling with my friend Elaine Stewart who is my neighbour and who is also a farmer. She has been growing ground crop and has fruit trees. We both have been growing organic for 25+ years. We are semi retired and want to help people who start farming. We have also both worked in office and have a lot of experience dealing with the public. We both have hosted travellers on our farm and we love to meet people from all over the world. We are not afraid of work and we know what it's like to start a small business. We are flexible and have a good sense of humour. We will arrive in Ecuador January 17th in Quito and will be in the country till February 11th. We want to help for about 2 weeks and then travel around the country. I did a Work away last fall, I went to Morocco and helped in a women's co-op. I really enjoyed my experience there. I love to connect with local people.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Organic farmer, mostly garlic and all sorts of vegetable, some knowledge for tree fruit pruning. Some computer skills, artist. I have a lot of experience with the public. I love gardening and farming work, had some experience with dairy farm (milking). I speak English, French and I am learning Spanish.

  • Languages spoken

    French English spanish

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    We are open minded . We would like to do some hiking while we are there.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts