Ana

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2016 - 01/11/2016


  • Description

    After spending 2 years off following school and university doing au pairing, voluntary traditional building projects and crewing jobs in Europe and travelling in South America, I originally qualified & worked as a nurse and did a degree in social anthropology & social policy. I also trained as an adult trainer & worked in Further Education training health & social care workers. I went on to manage training and qualification centres, and latterly qualified and worked for many years as a strategic workforce development manager in local Government. This work included managing teams of trainers and care specialists, commissioning, procurement, contract management, project management & quality assurance.

    I took voluntary redundancy from this work, retrained as an English Language trainer (CELTA) & massage thetapist with a view to travelling and working away.

    I am very fit & energetic, having renovated 19 houses, run a small-holding of 4 acres alongside a full time job, co-managed a big-house holiday rental business, walked up many mountains (500 kms in New Zealand and up to 5000m in the N Indian himalyayas), have done the basic PADI scuba diving course in Fiji, I am keen on running & yoga - been to 2 ashrams. I love cooking, gardening and any outdoor activity, especially walking/ trecking, sailing, diving, skiing. I am an intrepid traveller having been to many countries. I have been away for the last 4 years travelling solo, and stopped for several workaway projects eg. teaching English in Java and Sulawesi and doing a 6 week massage course in Bali. I've worked 2 Winter ski seasons in the Alps in France in hospitality, managing 11 self catering chalets, then an 80 bed hotel. I worked as a manager in a luxury hotel in the Scottish Hebrides & a high dining restaurant manager. I also provided massage.

    I love this lifestyle as it allows me to live in beautiful places & meet new people :-)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    management - operational planning/coordinating/staff management, project management, QA/ evaluation
    care
    teaching health care
    teaching English
    building / interior decoration / general maintenance
    gardening/ small holding
    crewing (supervised)
    cooking / general householding
    outdoor activities - walking/ tramping/ skiing/ diving/ cycling/ camping
    Massage
    Management

  • Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Age

    57

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    I am an extremely hard working and positive person, I get on well with all age groups, and work well in teams or alone. I am not put off by simple living conditions - I spent 2 years living mainly without electricity or fancy bathrooms or toilet facilities. I am self sufficient financially & flexible about where I go and for how long - nice! :-) I would like to learn new skills as well as contribute my existing skills and experience to any workaway projects. These would include sailing, diving, languages, massage, yoga, skiing, walking, cycling. I am happy to use management experience in various roles eg project management, hotel manager.
    I am currently most interested in sustainable communities and projects.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts