From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    All Countries

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/01/2016 - 12/01/2016

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Alyssa Brown. I'm 20 years old and from a small town in Illinois. I currently go to school at Spoon River College. I'm working on my associates degree in business and would like to major in Botany and Wildlife Conservation. I enjoy spending the majority of my time outside, being active. I have a little experience with building, my dad used to run a brickwork and tuck pointing company and I'd always help out when I was younger. I also just went on my first workaway experience in August, working on a vineyard in Texas. I helped build a small water shed and compost ben. At home I've had a garden for 3 years now and just recently started a compost pile last summer. I'm excited to learn more about building and gardening and dream to live completely sustainably someday. I have a 5 year old nephew, 3 year old niece, and another 10 month old niece who I adore, they're very smart with big characters. I would be happy helping with childcare and am most interested in organic gardening, building, eco projects, taking care of animals, cooking, or anything near water. I currently eat meat, but am against commercialized meat and wouldn't mind eating only vegan or vegetarian cuisine. I'm open minded and curious of the world around me, I'd like to become more educated on others cultures and ways of life. I hope to help a down to earth, happy family with their goals, while learning a lot about myself in a new environment. I'm learning guitar and like to sing and write, It would be nice to workaway with musicians, and or environmentally friendly people. I will never try to bring harm into a situation, my goal is to connect with my hosts and other workawayers. My favorite classes are sociology and philosophy. My hobbies include painting, hiking, music, photography, writing, dancing, and being outside in general. Please email me at for any further information!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I strive to be a hard worker, and am friendly. I have experience taking care of children, gardening, writing, and some building experience. I'm a fast leaner and willing to learn. I enjoy adventure!

  • Languages spoken

    English, very small amount of Spanish and French

  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I am new to workaday. I'm optimistic and excited, but expect to live under good conditions. I'd like access to fresh water and food, plumbing, electricity, and a list of anything I should bring and or leave depending on our arrangement. I'd like to have a discussion over Skype if possible for you and make sure we get along previous to making airplane/bus tickets and big plans. Thanks for considering me as your workawayer.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm not allergic to anything that I know of.

    • Special dietary requirements

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

My Photo Album

Click images to enlarge

Some of our top hosts