A helping hand with household work and two kids in Swedish Lapland

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/11/2016

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

2016

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Last minute visits are welcome any time in November up to 19th of December when we will head off on a holiday.

    We are a family of four, living in Lapland, in the north of Sweden. We are looking for someone who can help us mainly with general household work, but also with some child minding a few hours per week. At the moment, we can welcome someone immediately, to stay until latest 23rd September. We also welcome someone to stay with us from around 24th Oct and onwards.

    We have a girl, 4 years old and a son, just 2 years old - both with no special needs.

    The day to day tasks mainly include clearing up, cleaning, shopping. Some cooking if you like. It also includes child minding a few hours per week. Both me (the mum) and my husband are working. Both our kids go to the nursery 2-5 days per week. During weekdays we live in a flat in a small town of Jokkmokk (2500 inhabitants), where the nursery and my job is. My husband works away 1-2 weeks non-stop at a time in another town, and is then off work 1-2 weeks in between.

    We often stay long weekends (Fri-Sun, sometimes longer) in our house, which is located in a very small remote mountain village (15 inhabitants), about 1,5 hours from the nearest small town.

    With this life style we live close to nature and love being outside when we can, for example taking walks, or at winter going cross country skiing, making short snowmobile trips and cook over the fire. September-October is typically a time when we/people in the area go picking lingonberries, fish, go elk hunting. Ẃith some luck, you may also see sami ŕaindeer gathering. Apart from that, we are currently doing some renovation jobs on our house when we can find time.

    We love company and enjoy sharing our easy going life style - which can of course also be hectic at times sice we have small kids, work part-time and renovate at the same time :-) We love food and cook healthy and eat locally sourced moose, reindeer and fish, and vegetables with it.

    In your spare time, you have plenty of opportunities to explore the beautiful forest, mountains and trails around us (walking in summertime, and cross-country skiing in wintertime). Since the kids are with me and my husband all the time we will not always be able to join you on your explorations. But we can promise you that we will be there to assist you in every way we can.

    The area is remote so the experience is only suited if you can recognize yourself as a person who:
    Enjoys your own company and doing things on your own. But still very sociable.
    Have experience of nature life and wilderness.
    Don't need city pulse to get your heart beat going.
    Have experience of small children.
    Used to the noise from small Children ;-)
    Know how to clean.
    Know how to cook basic dishes.

    If you are this person please apply now!

    3-6 weeks is a good length to stay but shorter or longer is also possible.


    Welcome!
    Maya & Perra

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    Helping out with general household work. Joining as an extra hand and company in our daily life.
    Helping me and my husband with baby sitting our girl, 4 years old and a son, 20 months old.
    You need to have experience in taking care of kids, be self-going/motivated and like nature in remote areas.

    The daily help we need might include:
    Cooking one meal of two.
    Washing up afterwards.
    Taking our daugther to kindergarden sometimes.
    Watch and participate in our kids play inside or outside.
    Clearing up and cleaning up the house,
    Shop food.
    Do the laundry.

    Be our company in our daily life, doing small walks, meeting friends etc.

    Some days there will be more to do and some less!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the mountain village, we have a large house with plenty of space, and a large garden, with forest surrounding the house, and rivers and mountain trails nearby. You will have your own room with internet access, and share the rest with us.
    When we stay in town in our flat, you will also have your own room and internet access too, and share the rest with us.

    Note: As you stay in our house or flat with us, it is an advantage if you are used to, or don't mind, the 'buzz' of having children around most of the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - One week evaluation time.

    - Non smokers only.

    -Not suitable for vegetarians.

    -Driving licence is beneficial.

    - Minimum age 18 years.


    You must be happy to entertain yourself with activities like hiking and other outdoor activities on your spare time. We can lend you outdoor equipment/skis etc if you like going on your own adventures.

    -The Internet connection is limited at times.

    -You must be happy being on your own at times as we only host one volunteer at the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunites

    If you are interested, you may:
    -Improve your level of Swedish, or learn some Swedish words. Hanging out with kids is a good way to practise! Our four year old is talkative ańd a good "teacher".
    -Learn about and experience nature and (outdoor) life in Lapland. Taste our nice food! You may also learn some about the sami culture, since this area has a relatively large sami population.
    -Be part of a Swedish family's life for a while, and get to know our beautiful area!

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    max 25 hours per week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 868824132829

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

This Workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts