Please use your browser's back button.

Teaching English to an Indian Tribe at the beautiful coast of Panama

Country: Panama

Workaway Host rating
25
Last Activity
18/09/2014

Description

I am a 35 year old well-traveled Swiss woman. I have been living abroad for many years and I have done a lot of volunteer work around the globe. Last year I spent 3 amazing months with an Indian tribe teaching them enlgish. They are eager to learn the language because of the few tourists that come to visit their community.
The village is located in remote place at the pacific coast in Panama. It's by far the most beautiful community I have ever been to. The people and the location are just stunning. My goal is to find a great person who wants to go to this wonderful Village for a few months (2-?) and teach English.

Area

Darien in Panama

Type of help

Teaching

Help

About 200 people live in this wonderful traditional Embera Village. You will be teaching English to the school children but also to adults in the early evenings. You should have knowledge of the Spanish language because their English is very poor.

Languages spoken

They speak Embera and Spanish

Accommodation

You will have your own place to stay. You might be able to choose where excatly you want live in the village when you get there . I lived in a simple bamboo hut on stilts right on the beach. I had my own bathroom, a shower and a kitchen to cook. The village will cook 3 meals a day for you if you wishe so. Board and lodging will be taken care of. Everything is very basic.

What else ...

You will be living in a remote place accessible only by boat or foot. The next village with mobile access is one hour boat ride away.There are about 1 - 2 boatrides per week to that village. The ride costs around 12 to ? $, depending on how many people are going. The Police in the village you will be living has a satellite phone for emergencies. If you are an adventurer who loves nature and is interested in different cultures I promise you will have your Lifetime Experience right there.

Volunteering hours expected

about 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 793328631575

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share