Volunteering on a Farm Sanctuary in Switzerland

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/02/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4553

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    99.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D



This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

  • Description

    Description

    My Farm is in Gampel - Jeizinen about 1515m . Is a Sanctuary and we work very hard for our animals. I have sheep, horses, cattle, dogs.

    The Farm is connected by cable car as there are two stable, one up in the mountain for the sheep and one further down for horses and highland cattle.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    ** I can host someone again from middle April onwards and for the Summer , preferably long term **

    I am looking for someone for the Sprintime onwards and preferably longterm. From mid April onwards we are going to spend a lot of time preparing the farm and the fields to put the animals outdoors for the Summer.

    In Summer, the busiest time of the year, we work hard, we make hay on steep alpine meadows and bring the hay into the stable. Helpers should be in good physical condition and not afraid of hard work. We also water and sprinkler the fields and regularly check on the animals on the high mountain pastures.

    Please read all the informations below and if you think you fit here please contact me! As we usually respond within 24 hours , it would be great if you wouldn`t apply at the same time to many different places, because once we decide to host you here we truly rely on you coming here. Thank you!

    My Farm is in Gampel - Jeizinen about 1515m

    I am looking for a reasonably strong, reliabel, friendly, honest and hard working volunteer , preferably with driving license , who loves animals and working outdoors. Due to the fact, that the farm is pretty large and in addiction to farming I also teach sport and swimming at the local school, I prefer long term helper/s that have the confidence sometimes to work independently.

    I will only consider application from volunteer/s truly interested helping in a farming environment. If you are not used to it, sometimes the tasks can be tough but you will always get enough days off / free time to relax or explore the area. You must enjoy working with animals and outdoor. Thank you for considering coming here.

    I have sheep, horses, cattle, dogs. Help is mostly needed during April until November but there is help needed all year round, so during the winter, (December until March) I can also host someone. It would be great to host someone who is motivated, flexible, kind, honest, capable, strong and able to work both independently and under instruction.

    The help will involve April-August: making and repairing fences, mowing and field work, making hay, sprinkling and watering the fields, maintenance and help outside with general tasks around the farm, taking care and checking on the animals. September-March: making and repairing fences, getting the farm ready for the winter, regularly check on the animals, mouving the animals, watering the fields, feeding the animals, cleaning out manure and general tasks around the farm.

    Taking pleasure in working physically with your body and enjoying solitude would be necessary to have a good time here. I would particularly welcome people with some tractor-driving skills or willing to learn it.

    You will need to bring: for your own safety; good hiking shoes, no sneakers, clothes for working outside in winter or summer. Personal health insurance.

    You will be in a beautiful location and depending on the season around 5 hours a day, sometimes less, sometimes more; these hours can be reasonably flexible, allowing you time to explore our area and beautiful mountain and in winter, on your days off you can go skiing / snowboarding or just relax. In exchange I offer a lovely accomodation with cooking facilities and pocket money for your groceries.

    If you seek a simple life in a beautiful landscape I would love to hear from you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Just to give you an idea about the accommodation, it is comfortable to sleep 2 people (there is a queen bed and also a fold out double), it’s a small, cosy flat, with a separate bedroom, a kitchen, living room and bathroom and has everything you need for cooking etc.

    The wifi is relatively limited in the flat itself however there is a restaurant about 50m away that has pretty good wifi. The flat is located in the heart of the village, Jeizinen, and is close to the farm and the local shops (grocery etc).

    Due to the living arrangements it is not possibly to live with me so you will have the flat for yourself/with other volonteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visiting the famous thermal water hot pools in Leukerbad.
    Skiing / snowboarding in the nearby Ski Resort Jeizinen or Saas Fee
    Horses trekkingstours
    Experience the beautiful Alps Niven

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Voluteering outdoors and independently , learning about farming life and animals. Swim in thermal Pools Leukerbad. Hike on the Niven Alps.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours a day sometimes less sometimes more, depending on the season and weather 5 days a week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Farm
Sheep, Horses, Dogs
The Farm has at the Moment 25 Highland Cattle
Host ref number: 336148924252

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts