Volunteers needed on a Natural Farm in India

Country:

Workaway Host rating
Last Activity
28/02/2015

2015

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
2016




  • ...

    This host charges a fee

    read more

    Why does workaway.info allow listings of hosts who charge money?

    In developing countries (Where most hosts are involved in charity work or community development) some of our hosts may ask for a small donation to help the host family or charity (often less then 5 dollars per day) Workaway will allow this listing when the donation goes directly to the family or charity and is just to cover the cost of the volunteer's stay.  (This will be clearly marked on the host listing).
    We will strictly not allow listings posted by agents, “middle men” or projects who we feel are looking to profit from a volunteers stay.
     

     

     

    5.15 Euro (350 INR) per person per day for accommodation and food
  • Description

    Description

    Sarang is a center for learning sustainable lifestyle. The main campus is located on a remote hilltop and has been developed as a live textbook for environmental re-generation, soil regeneration, watershed management and natural farming.

    Our family is a growing alternative school. We have 9 children living & learning with us, from age 6 to 20 years. Gopalakrishnan and Vijayalekshmi, the founders of the school have relocated to a sub-campus for the student's art studies.

    Gautham, the couple's son, his wife Anuradha were supporting the school through their work. In June 2013 their tiny family, including 3 year old Hiranya and 4 month old little boy are planning to move up to the farm.

    We intend to work on construction using wood, repairing a well, removing soil from a check dam reservoir and cultivation of seasonal crops. On our list is also the documentation of biodiversity on the farm and a comparative study with the adjacent area.

    We would love hands to share the work of building a truly sustainable center for learning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    The cool time before the sun really gets up will be used for some hard work. The mornings can start with working on the construction or silting site. Housework never ends, so you can also choose to help around the house, with chores, cleaning up, cooking etc. The hotter times in the middle of the day, you can use for reading, writing or any other activity that you can do in the shade. After lunch, you can catch a nap. In the tropics you need the rest. Afternoons, you can again join the heavy work. Alternate days will be washing day in the river, which you can join.
    Any time you spend with the children is always appreciated.

    Keep yourself hydrated, do not overwork your body, keep your body cool with atleast one bath everyday, sing, dance and be merry!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Tamil, Malayalam and Hindi

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Basic accommodation and food will be provided. A single cottage is available for volunteers. Families can be housed in the main house. Bring a sleeping bag, or you can borrow one of ours. Food is rice based, vegetarian and home-cooked. There will be some or other fruit available on the farm all the time but if you need to snack in between, keep yourself stocked from the small town nearby. Boiled and cooled water will be available for drinking. For bathing and washing clothes, all will have to walk down to the river some half kilometer. There are no toilets, we just go into the forest with a spade and a bucket. One way of enriching the soil.

    We run on our income from web designing and other small jobs, not on external funds. This is why we charge for your accommodation and food. Hope you understand.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We look for a genuine interest in other cultures and earth's future in volunteers. We are basically trying to share simple solutions with everybody around us. You should have the capacity to learn and willingness to share your knowledge. Should be able to live simply. Knowledge of basic communicative English or any one of these Indian languages, Hindi, Malayalam or Tamil is a necessary criteria.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    2 - 4 hours


Photos

Some shots from Sarang

Click images to enlarge

A portion of diversity from our farm. Chillies and brinjal
Way to the old library. This is how it looks in the summer. Soon it is going to be green green greeeen!
We found a nightjar and its baby nested in the forest floor. One of the helps we need is to document the biodiversity of the campus
Host ref number: 25556617434a

Feedback left by and about host

by Harriet

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Helen

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.
by Tabitha

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.
by Laetitia

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts